top of page

“A Fine Zenith", The Other Side", My Muse Calls at 3 AM"...by Emily Moon




A Fine Zenith


A stone in my chest

radiates the blue color

of new fallen snow

under the full moon.


It rises from my gut

through my diaphragm

and lungs,

heart and throat,

through my eyes

and the top of my skull

to a fine zenith

around which

the universe rotates,

around which I rotate

radiating light

from the cracks

in my battered heart.




The Other Side


I stand

at the precipice


the view

cliff and chasm


river winding

far below


the other side

lush and inviting


gravity pulls

me forward


I’m not afraid

of falling


I know

if I fall


I will burst

into flight



My Muse Calls at 3 AM

I rise in the dark,

dream myself into being.

Whose face peers back

from the morning mirror?

What spice

runs through my veins?


My hair awaits

the comb of dawn.

My pen scratches paper,

bleeds incarnadine ink.

From those wounds,

flow poetry.


The perfume

of night blooming flowers

meets the aroma

of dawn.

In the flow of scents,

a new day is born.


I sense the curves

of my ever-changing body,

feel the delicious breast pain

that informs me

I'm a growing girl.



Light from Your Eyes


I like the idea


of surrounding you

as you enter my cave


I imagine your adagio

inviting me

to grip you tighter


pull you deeper

into the darkness

of desire


the animal

of my heart

purrs and howls


as you become

a horse

galloping in place


until

you


surrender


I want light

to shine from your eyes

fill sweet space


as we glow

in the embrace

of the moment


while radiance

surrounds and suffuses

our convergence




I Am an Ocean


I am deep and dark.


I am bathed in light and shade.


I am home to minute and immense.

I give birth, I nurture.


In my deepest, darkest places,


there is light.




When I feel darkness,


when I feel I am not enough,


when I feel self-doubt or self-loathing,


when I feel I don’t fit or belong,


I will try to remember


in my deepest,


darkest places,


there is light.




Emily Moon (she/her) is a queer transgender poet from Portland, Ore. She is Editor at First Matter Press. She is author of "It’s Just You & Me, Miss Moon." Her work includes appearances in or forthcoming from Pile Press, Boats Against the Current, Banyan Review, The Dawn Review, Culinary Origami, [inherspacejournal] and elsewhere. You can find her on Instagram @emilymoonpoet and Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/Emily.Moon.57/.

bottom of page