top of page

"A Love Poem By Ahab Candomblé" by G . R . Tomaini



1. A Love Poem by Ahab1 Candomblé2


Only a stupid poet3. . .

could think a poem,

capable of capturing your beauty!


The honey of the beecomb,

tastes not as sweet,

as your blushing kisses.


Magnificent girl,

into the curls of your hair,

will I swirl .


Girl ! Here I stand,

in your shadow,

lightened by your glimmer.


Purple majesty!

You reign over my heart,

will you care for your property?


O ! Who ever had --

in his sights -- a beauty4

such as you , to bless his eyes?


You! What spell5

have you cast over me?

I am yours.


My maiden,

how much longer will you

make me wait, to love you?


1 Herman Melville, Moby Dick; Ralph Ellison, The Invisible Man; James Baldwin, Notes of A Native Son
2 Robert A. Voeks, Sacred Leaves of Candomblé
3 Joyce Kilmer, Trees
4 Charles Baudelaire, Beauty
5 Nina Simone, I Put A Spell On You

Who birthed you --

Aphrodite6? Beauty ! --

will you consider my outstretched hand?


Chasity, for you!

For a face as fine as yours,

will chaste I keep; marry me?


Where are

beauties such as you,

made? Surely in heaven7. . .


I thought I smelled your perfume --

in a shopping center the other day --

but then , it was only a bundle of roses.


Will your delicate hands --

fit into this diamond ring --

that belonged to my grandmother?


My heart flails its

vulnerable side to you --

will you reject it?


Be with me!

Be with me forever!

I offer my soul to you --


do you accept?


Oh good. That trite love poetry,

will have successfully disguised

this urgent plea for help . . .


By the time you are reading this,

it may well be too late for me!


6 Sandro Botticelli, The Birth of Venus
7 Langston Hughes, Heaven

If you're reading this --

that means that my letter made it out; I risked everything to get this

outside; I only pray my captors

don't find it first . . .

Here's the story -- I'm being held

against my will -- on a farm -- somewhere

in Vermont. I can't remember where.

This place is a living hell --

I'm gnashing my teeth just

thinking about it. Every night, they

torture me -- and they really enjoy it, the

sickos. They get off on it -- they even

recorded it, one time! They said they'll

play it back for me later . . . and that I'll

eventually grow to like it, just like they do.

I can't think about my pride, right now,

or about how much I've suffered

under this roof . . . If you want the truth

I almost wish I were dead. They've made

my life such a living hell -- it's gruesome.

A few hours ago, they took my friends. I

don't know where they took them -- or

what happened to them -- I only know, that whatever happened to them . . .

was absolutely horrific. I'm sorry --

I just teared a little bit --

and a few tears fell on this letter.

Please don't mind that -- I can't help it. I can

barely bring myself to finish this -- I'll try to

wrap it up as soon as I can. Before you even

finish reading this letter -- call the cops! I need a

helicopter squad searching for me. Make sure

they have SWAT teams search every farm in

Vermont. It's the only way they're ever going

to find me. One of my captors drives a Toyota

Prius, and the other one drives a blue minivan,

I forget which company makes it --

guess it doesn't matter too much --

so that should help narrow down their search.

Call the cops! Do it! I don't have much time left:

I can feel it. Tell them to send dog teams, too --

who knows what we're up against.

Now that you've returned to the letter --

after calling the cops -- I need you to

call all of the major news stations

and alert them to my status . . .

as a prisoner against my will.

Put down this letter and do it, friend!

Now! And on second thoughts,

call the cops again -- maybe have them

send in the air force to fly a few jets

around the tri-state area -- my captives

told me that they can do a lot

worse than I could ever imagine --

so we can't take any chances!

Hey, maybe you could even get

Spiderman to come rescue me?

That'd be cool -- he's my favorite

superhero. Could you call him up?

My stupid captives won't ever let me

go see his movies, even though

all of my friends at school are allowed

to go see them whenever they please.

It took all that I could do,

to persuade them to buy me

the recent Spiderman action figures . . .

Once I got them, I played with them

non-stop, and for hours. I kept being

too tired to do my homework, so my

captives eventually took my action figures

away -- which was a few hours ago. Now,

they've got me holed up in the attic,

until I have learned my lesson --

I don't know what these sickos think

my lesson is, but the only lessons,

that I damn sure know anything about,

are the ones that Mrs . Hendrickson -- who

teaches the second grade at my school,

teaches me during class. But! my captives

are really sinister -- that's why I stopped

calling them my parents, and started

calling them my captives -- I don't know

what kind of lesson these sickos have

in mind for me, but I know it won't be another

same old, same old multiplication lesson, like the

kinds Mrs . Hendrickson gives. Those lessons are

super hard -- but nothing compares to the grief of

losing my best friends -- my Superman action

figures -- oh! and let me tell you what they did to

me, earlier this evening. My captives -- they told

me -- the sickos -- that they'd prepared a real

special supper for me -- the sickos even said I

would like it. Then -- they had the nerve to place

a plate in front of me, covered with sesame tofu,

and garlic broccoli -- it makes me want to puke,

just thinking about it!

Aw no, I just puked all over this letter.

I don't have another sheet of paper --

so it'll have to do. I started wailing --

I said I wouldn't eat it. Then they

freaked out -- being sickos, after all --

and forced me to eat the broccoli . . .

It's difficult for me to write about!

I'm sorry, I just spilled some more tears

onto this letter. Look! I'm sensitive!

They can't do this to me! It's illegal! I

don't know what these sickos

think that they are doing -- but I learned about

the constitution in Mrs . Hendrickson's class

-- my parents can't get away with this -- please,

get Spiderman, have him rescue me -- and then

he'll turn my parents over

to the coppers, and they'll arrest these --

boogerheads! I'm kind of sleepy -- I'll finish here.

Mommie gave me some sleepy time

milk, and it has really worn me out.

Ugh -- I loathe her -- how could she

take away my Spidermans, and

force me to eat “ healthy ” broccoli?

Despicable! It isn't fair, and she'll

find out the hard way -- believe me --

when she's doing time in a federal prison.

And don't get me started on Papa --

I realized my life was a living hell,

when he told me that I couldn't get

the inflatable bouncy house, that

I wanted from the store. My life

is so hard ! Papa may even get the

electric chair, who knows! He's a real

sicko, too. Okay -- I'll throw this

out of the window, and hope

to dearest God someone finds it --

and sends help! Remember:

send the helicopter search teams!


Yours fondly,


Ahab Candomblé,


Second Grade

Sargasso8 State Preparatory Academy


8 Jean Rhys, Wide Sargasso Sea



G . R . Tomaini have three books of poetry forthcoming and is looking to place a fourth. He is also editing a Philosophical System for publication at present. He is interested in Queering the Canon, and is LGBTQ.

bottom of page