top of page

"A Tub Poem", "Tied Down", "The Last War"..by Tom Mazur



A Tub Poem

I was watching this poem float by

and thinking it was

painted by Van Gogh

I don’t know

Or was it the women

going to and fro

talking of Michelangelo

I don’t know

but what I do know

that there are no words

once the water

gets cold

and the words get old


Tied Down

I don’t wear ties anymore

but I have hundreds of them

hanging around

and when I die

I don’t want one on

Same thing goes for

these poems I’ve

been writing daily since

Ash Wednesday

and if this energy

creeps into another Lent

let me burn the ties

and the poems too

and then push me

towards the many books

that are collecting dust

especially those diaries

stacked not neatly

in the bowels

of the basement

cleanse me of my sins

and wash away my iniquities

after the fire amen




The Last War

For the last war

on planet earth

I don’t want to wear

a uniform

maybe just an

olive green tee shirt

in vogue these days

by a Jewish comedian

but of course

war is not a laughing matter

I want to be in a foxhole

with you

with shovels to dig

our trench deeper

so deep

that we’d be at the

opposite end of the world

I used to think that it would be China

but now I’m not sure

there’s a good possibility

we’d end up in the middle of the ocean

somewhere

we’d bring along

an inflatable raft

like the one used

in a James Bond movie

just in case

we’d be in it for the long haul

living on each other’s breath

not tiring of the work involved

knowing in advance

that we may be the

only two alive

to start something new

bottom of page