top of page

"After the precondition" & "In the customary fashion" by Townes-Thomas



After the precondition


A history of seedless planning 

resolved itself      in purple sheets

for local consul swaddling;


the council tenants stand 

around the drying public grass;


after curdling, 

the milk is tasted, spoiled.


A nursing mother sways 

on one standing leg,


then hops

quietly fretting 

over little archangel in his sackcloth,


and round the ruined towers, the nettles 

appear

to twist themselves 

in broken shapes that nestle curds.


The air that's left to breathe is of an old museum.



In the customary fashion


Back then, the shadows of the individual leaves 

swaddle the limbs of tired flats. There are whispers

in the walls about swaddling. There’s a story burning


and in it, a young face is pushed into apple pie

to laughter. The invasion does not come in the shape of French troops 

– there are none. I’ve been drinking, which you can tell


by how my jacket falls. I’ll hang you up at a key moment,

right as you say something nice. You might fear me more

if you knew about the pie. At the party blockade, the first sound


is not music. I’ll beg mercies for someone 

I’ll never know, someone I’ll wear a hat and coat for,    

who drops crystals in my kidneys, his fear


bloating out my waistband, though I’d ask how many

guys like me out there are bilious, with a few loose leaves

in the bottom of the bag. When you smile, 


the rusted balconies creak and threaten to crush the passing residents. I’m brave

only when the eyes are averted. There is no history round here

after regeneration. You could clean out


the fat from the valves. Since I hung you up there

could I ever be clean? I’ll hand you a limb

before the cinder blocks crumble. 




Townes-Thomas lives a quiet life in London, England. He spends his time struggling to make sense of the things he reads and the world in general. His poems are available in Shoreline of Infinity, Scifaikuest, and Graphic Violence Lit.

bottom of page