top of page

"An Address Bleeds on the Door" & "The Short Life of Spring" by Kushal Podder



An Address Bleeds On The Door


Once more I've come to the door,

scored a photo, asked the mystery behind-

"What is it that keeps pulling me in?"


The numbers on the woodwork, hand-painted,

bleed a lot, and I wait

as if its wound would heal, the address would

instill a jiffy etched in the air like a capricious feather.


Knock on the skull; if I have ever lived here

as a resident, as the one behind,

that I had been unlocked into infinity.

My father, all gone, whispers

to my mother, all gone, that I have grown to be

nothing they imagine, but it matters no longer.


The Short Life of The Spring


In its kingdom of shadows sits the cat.

When the car will start and roll away

it will be a pauper.

This moment is sacred. This moment is rich

with all its quiet.

In the sugarcane juice spilled from the cup

of an old man runs the youth of the Spring,

its alysm and inbetweenness.




An author, journalist, and a father, Kushal Poddar, editor of 'Words Surfacing’, authored eight books, the latest being 'Postmarked Quarantine'. His works have been translated into eleven languages.

bottom of page