top of page

"And So I Lay" by David Henderson

And so I lay.

Off lively path.

Driftin' in et out of day,

Last and lonely sound, my laugh,


Come the Raven, blackest of wings

Claws cave, dig through cornea

Flags of lost kings

Rip, rip, rip the retina


Claws cave, dig through cornea

Cut away the colours,

Rip, rip, rip the retina

Embrace new cold, dark Mother


Cut away the colours,

Come the Raven, blackest of wings

Embrace new cold, dark Mother

Flags of lost kings


And so I lay.

Off lively path.

Driftin' in et out of day,

Last and lonely sound, my laugh,

 

Ah a guest, royal beetle,

Travel across the skin,

In et out the leg quickly needle

Lay the ground for its kin,


Travel across the skin,

Map the strach and wound

Lay the ground for its kin,

Awake the haunted tune


Map the strach and wound

Ah a guest, royal beetle,

Awake the haunted tune

In et out the leg quickly needle


Last and lonely sound, my laugh,

Driftin' in et out of day,

Off lively path.

And so I lay.


Degrade, degrade, degrade

Consciousness gone,

Deepest sea of which to fade,

Now the restless song,


Degrade, degrade, degrade,

Consciousness leaving, mind gone,

Deepest sea of which to fade,

Now the restless song,


Consciousness leaving, mind gone,

The dirt the only warmth,

Now the restless song,

Fall, fall, fall


The dirt my only warmth,

Degrade, degrade, degrade,

Fall, fall, fall

Deepest sea of which to fade


Last and lonely sound, my laugh,

Driftin' in et out of day,

Off lively path.

And so I lay.




David Henderson is a young poet, currently a junior in high school. Born in Santa Fe, NM, and raised in Flint, MI, David has been published in the Paramanu Pentaquark VII and the Quilted Voices collection. His work often draws from a passion for folklore, film, and fantasies of nature.


bottom of page