top of page

"Arctic Drizzle at the Food Truck" by Matthew McDonald



Mature Age Student


The earth is crying like it’s lost

a fake Rolex

it believed was real

based on the glistening multitude

of assurances piled onto the Rolex

by the passenger in the earth’s taxi

who’d had no cash and used

the watch to pay the earth

in a time before digital transactions,

in a time when the earth had a second job

driving taxis at night to pay for night

courses in psychology

because education had stopped

at 15 years of age

in the earth’s small town but stayed

for decades howling

by the front door of the earth’s mind

like a dog with abandonment issues.





No One Says Terrific Anymore


The earth is crying

but in a slightly annoying way

because it showed in its teens

its hyphen-heavy poem

to a friend and the friend said


‘hyphens are dead’, forgetting

that the origin of bedroom is

bed-room, which is at least

the way it’s written in my edition

of Bleak House, now being swabbed

for traces of explosives at airport security,

where I’m hoping I haven’t packed a blade and a friend

just texted to say I should


say hi to the Parthenon for them,

which is dumb because I don’t speak ancient greek

or even modern greek and besides


my flight is bound for Dublin,

where the sky on arrival is beauteous

blue perfection.

On a scale of beauteous perfection

it’s potatoes au gratin in food blog photos,

delicate golds and light browns glistening

like a desert coated in margarine spray.

Quite a good score but not

the top, for consumer surveys show

the sky rates best

when it’s about to disappear.




What if I Don’t Leave My Body?


The earth is crying

because it once cried simply

from seeing a puppy at an airport

lick its owner’s cheeks clean

of feelings of inadequacy yet won’t

visit the Mona Lisa

because a stranger eating octopus

at a bar in Barcelona said ‘it’s pretty

underwhelming’. Same for the Taj Mahal,

Niagara Falls, Rome

(the carbonara wasn’t quite

transcendental), same

for most of the world whenever

elation wasn’t slipped into his hand

like the lost code of a juicy bitcoin account.





Uplifting Comedown


At dawn I watch the sun

ooze onto communist era buildings

like armpit sweat

and all it brings to mind is all

the diabolical ways

I might steal fries from a stranger’s plate.

You think I don’t love nature?

I do love nature —

but mostly for the picnics,

and preferably in pictures

where I for once am not

Caspar-David-Friedrich-ing myself

into the centre of vast ineffable


landscapes that somehow manage

to squeeze themselves

like expert queue-jumpers

at departure gates

into stanzas of beautiful poetry.


You think I don’t love poetry?

O I do—

it’s just that I’ve never read any


with the same urgency as reading

a text message over the head-rest

of someone seated in front of me

on a plane whose wheels are already spinning

towards their imminent redundancy.





Doorknob with Vital Signs


In a recent tweet I read it said

‘the simile is dead’. Dead


as dodecaphonic serialism. Dead

as last year’s five-year plans.


So dead that roadkill

will be assessed with the phrase


‘That deer is as dead as simile’,

a self-negating incantation which brings


not only the simile back to life but also

the deer, who wobbles

onto its hooves and trots

across the road and into


the forest, ignoring the absence

of signs indicating


an area set aside

for the safe crossing of deer.





The Earth Thinks Rich


The earth is crying like it’s just worked out

that the coins buried in the sofa are worth

more than the actual sofa

and actually belong to the bank

that provided the loan

for the purchase of the sofa yet won’t

make a dent in the monthly repayments.


It’s dreaming of investing in

a washer/dryer combo completing a few

of its seventeen remaining tasks

before settling down to a film starring

Bradley Cooper.

And just like that the earth wonders if


Bradley Cooper is also dining in

at a takeaway restaurant

eating French fries dipped

in melted cheese the yellow of


nicotine stains on ceilings

in apartments in East Berlin

after the fall of the wall but before

mass speculation on ruins

and the attendant stripping of plaster.




Small Wonders Sample Pack


On earth I am no more

or less alive than yeast

and Olympic athletes

but I remember I’m always

finding new things to like.

Like the way we agreed on stars

as appropriate symbols

with which to rate operas and seafood.

Like the way a single star

can receive a five star review.

I like how no one I know gets older

unless they’re absent,

aging privately and suddenly

like pears.


I like the way that language can be briefly terrifying

until you learn that the words

‘die American...’ ‘die Single...’‘die Quick...’

are only the fragmented beginnings

of sentences in German.


And I feel young.

I feel young

in the way I feel fluent

in a foreign language

when someone speaking it only says

the only two words I know.




Matthew McDonald is an Australian musician and poet living in Berlin, Germany, where he is employed as principal double bass of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra. He recently completed an MA in Creative Writing at the Open University, graduating with distinction.

bottom of page