top of page

"Being a better kind of ghost," "The Promise of rain," & "Opening night" by Gavin Turner



Being a better kind of ghost


Due to the high levels of domestic accident these days,

There’s a chance that I might be a newly formed Ghost,

It doesn’t feel the way you think, though

I am solid, breathable, clumsy like you


I can still exhale, be indelicate,

railing and flailing and moving things round

was never really my scene

I return each night though,

Undress in the dark, set the alarm, lay on the bed,

Try and steal the covers like always


Once I whispered, asked you to come with me

It’s too late you said, sleep,

Ask me in the morning

I listen properly now, without interrupting

But it seems there’s nothing you want to say


In the evenings, we just chill on the sofa

with the wine we once shared,

And never give away the end of the film,

While you doze, I guzzle the popcorn crumbs


I still put the bins out on Wednesday night

Because you always forget

Clink down the moonlit path

Like a good husband

Being dead is no excuse for not recycling


I wonder how long we go on like this,

In a spectral domestic bliss, I hope its forever,

Or at least till you are ready,

To come away with me





The promise of rain


Promise me the sun will not shine every morning,

But, in the absence of light, you will instead

Explain your half- remembered dream,

This time I will listen, and try to understand


We will each acknowledge our side of

The corruption of bed linen,

And, for the sake of argument

Smooth out the frowning wrinkles

With swallowed pride


Promise me, if we must one day revisit

These moments of misunderstanding,

We can go together, bare foot

Not wallowing but

squelching in the mire


Promise me the soft fingertips of rain,

Gently resting in palms,

Ready for forgiveness,

A slow melting of last nights’ frost

Those silent signs of a thaw




Opening night


The week of the show,

You had started wearing the umbilical cord

like a fashionable scarf, tighter

And try with all your tiny might,

There was no way to undo it


Ready, in your pink birthday suit,

This had become an engagement party, of sorts

Head down, ready to depart into a fluid world

A wrinkle, frowned in hospital towels, a new costume,

Rushed down blurry corridors into a waiting theatre

To play blindly, in the performance of your life


It snowed that morning even though it was late Easter,

in the darkness we observed the melt, numbed and

dressed for the occasion

in blue scrubs waiting, watching, an incubation period

This was no dress rehearsal


Opening on stage, ten weeks earlier than planned,

You became a living puppet, tangled wires twisted,

pumped up your lungs flat as pancakes,

steroid breath, finding your voice,

you were the star of this show,

Somehow, you made it through the opening night,

A brave performance,

Centre stage in the hospital floodlights





Gavin Turner is a writer of poetry and fiction. He has had work published in Punk Noir Magazine, Void Space, JAKE and icebreaker lit, not to mention Roi Faineant press. His debut chapbook The Round Journey was published in May 2022. You can find him on @gtpoems on Twitter or via his website www.gtpoems.com

bottom of page