top of page

"Bird Watching" by Indranil Ghosh



I ran into a kiwi bird

while hiking up the sledge track,

early morning.

It had news from my dad.

He says he has made friends with

Chester Bennington, Kurt Cobain,

and Curtis Mayfield. All the music icons

I look up to.


He says he has finally taught himself

how to play the piano

and is finishing up a song

dedicated to Remedios Varo.


I gently picked up the kiwi bird with my

wounded fingers and brought it closer to

me. My dad says he has also been

appointed to hunt down the beasts that

frequently ambush the paradise!

I found that amusing, reminiscing what a

tender and humble being he actually was.


All of a sudden, the bird took its

flight, before announcing aloud how proud

my dad was when I shielded my prose

from the Hellhound, the other night.

And I thought kiwi birds were flightless!




Indranil Ghosh is a Ph.D. student in applied mathematics from India, currently living in New Zealand. Highly inspired by Nirvana, Led Zeppelin, and Robert Frost, whenever he is not working, one may find him either reading classic poems or listening to music from the 70s and 80s. He has his poems published in The Unconventional Courier, Aphelion Webzine, Sixpence Society Literary Magazine, etc.

bottom of page