top of page

"Charlie Chaplin and Me", "Courage", "The Love of My Life"...by Milton P. Ehrlich

Charlie Chaplin and Me

When I was a kid, I thought we were related.

I walked like him and, like him, didn’t speak,

and could pantomime like a vagabond tramp.

Ballroom dancing was easy as I skated my way

around flip-flops with orders of restaurant meals.

I was always roaming around my neighborhood,

looking in windows as if I didn’t belong anywhere.

Every one of his silent films was too good to miss,

and I fell madly in love with Claire Bloom in Limelight.

When he ridiculed Hitler, I laughed until I cried,

and applauded until I wore the skin off of my hands.

I envied him for having the courage of his convictions,

to retire to a country with no army.




Courage

You never know how much

you have until you’re tested.

I had no fear when I slept overnight

In the woods to prove I was as brave

as a Leni Lenape Indian at the age of 14

to qualify as an honorary member

of the Order of the Arrow.

I had no fear when I took a bus to Afton, New York

to work as a Farm Cadet during the second world war.

I was not afraid to drive my ’37 Dodge to Iowa City

in a January blizzard of 1950 to enroll as a student

at the University of Iowa. I had no fear the day I became

a member of the US Army during the Korean War.

Now I’m being tested again as I face life alone

after losing my loving wife of 67 years. How brave will I be?

I will be the first to find out.



The Love of My Life

Anyone can tell you

she presented herself

as a sparkling bright light

with an alluring charisma,

and more alive than any

human being I ever knew.

Her lifelong guiding idea

was to live with no chance

of the casual.

Vibrating with life, she never

wanted to miss a trick, yet

managed to live by the five

Buddhist precepts even though

her dreams were often filled

with dancing dreidels, mezuzahs

and menorahs.

Her presence changed the quality

of the air, made the sun hotter, and

the moon whiter than it has ever been.



My Mutinous First Mate

Jumped overboard before me,

leaving me to cry the 3 rivers dry

from the tidal estuaries of—

Brudenell, Cardigan and Montague,

rivers that flowed into Saint Mary’s Bay.

I spent the happiest days of my life

with my chest puffed up like Captain Bly,

getting my Boston Whaler underway across

the bay to Boughton Island. She stood at the

bow, her hair flowing in the wind, moments

before she exclaimed to me: I will wait for you,”

and dove into the sea.




Milton P. Ehrlich Ph.D. is a 90-year-old psychologist and a veteran of the Korean War. He has published many poems in periodicals such as the London Grip, Arc Poetry Magazine, Descant Literary Magazine, Wisconsin Review, Red Wheelbarrow, Christian Science Monitor, and the New York Times.


Comentários


bottom of page