top of page

"Currying Forms", "On the Hacking of His Facebook Account"...by Ben Nardolilli



Currying Forms


See all this? I use this as an excuse to avoid cooking,

learning about it, shopping for ingredients,

setting down recipes, putting time aside to make meals


There is no doubt in my mind I could save money

and possibly lose weight cooking for myself,

but it is not laziness that keeps my cookery in place


Aesthetics move me to a still kitchen, not disturbing

the way the pots sit shining on the stove,

and how the plates in the cupboard form a rainbow



On the Hacking of His Facebook Account

There is no better way to hear

from people you haven’t talked to in years,

all you need is a hidden actor

with malicious intent imitating you online,

the same picture, the same name,

and access to the same list of friends,

then your long lost acquaintances

will contact you with messages

asking if you are the one who sent them

repeated offers for male enhancements,

or instructions on how to reach

lonely singles in their area with a click,

it might be something political,

a scam that claims to be for a good cause,

but more likely it will be a link to some spam

about how to make mad money

by playing games hosted on URLs

that run forever and collapse on themselves

and while you have their attention

in the messaging app of your choice,

you can ask them how they figured it out,

how did they eventually realize

some unseen program was imitating you?

Was it more than just bad grammar?



Hannah


I kept trying to remember her name the other day,

not for anything nefarious, just for my sanity,

once I discovered a gap in my memory, I had to fill it,

as if the space was about to turn into a hole

and the hole would turn into a leak for everyone else


Gone officially from social media, it was impossible

to find her that way, all I saw were names

and faces for people I’ve never met interacting

with other people who are strangers except in name,

or people I would never just casually forget,


Going through my friends’ photos that were posted

online years ago, I tried to see if she was tagged,

mentioned, pointed out, or if her name

was given to the title of whole albums of single images,

no luck, I wondered if I was losing her face too


Trawling through dating sites jolted my memory,

when I saw her first name, attached to the personality

of someone I matched with, allegedly,

the satisfaction at filling the gap was good, and brief,

now I have to try and recall what her surname was



Mindshare Quest


Taking a survey of my habits,

There’s a little bit of money

And a lottery for a gift card involved


If I do enough of them

I will start saying my habit

Is taking surveys from strangers


I may get there soon,

Reaching the online ouroboros

With a survey on the quality of surveys,


It’s simple and easy,

Since I know all of the answers

Without the need of a pen or pencil


Nothing I put is ever wrong,

So long as I am completely honest,

And I discover my self a bubble at a time




Ben Nardolilli currently lives in New York City. His work has appeared in Perigee Magazine, Red Fez, Danse Macabre, The 22 Magazine, Quail Bell Magazine, Elimae, The Northampton Review, Local Train Magazine, The Minetta Review, and Yes Poetry. He blogs at mirrorsponge.blogspot.com and is trying to publish his novels.

bottom of page