top of page

"Dictionary Definitions", "London’s Daughter", "B (B) A"&...by JP Seabright



Dictionary Definitions


I took the book you gave me for my

birthday, and smashed it across my skull,

the Concise Oxford Dictionary. It

was reassuringly heavy and full


in my hands, a New Edition for the ‘90s,

one thousand four hundred and sixty-four

pages. It was the only thing I had to hand

to slam etymologies of sense into me.


No words were harmed during this violent

act of self-punishment and release, they

remained safe inside their hardback cover.

No words escape from me either still, thirty


years later, as I bludgeon my brain to find

a way to express what you did to me.




London’s Daughter


These walled streets through which I walk,

Remind me of where I’m coming from,

Resign me to where I’m going to.

Discreetly, concretely, I beseech thee to

Let me through, I am London’s daughter.

Wattle and daub, bricks and mortar.


These sunken ships on which I sail,

All aboard for the city.

Newspapered professionals sitting pretty

Self-made all in a row.

Let me pass, I am here at last, where

Lectricity and scalators build subterranean skyscrapers.


Flesh and bone, blood and water

Lead me home, I am London’s daughter.






An audio version of this poem is available here: https://jpseabright.com/visual-audio/




Bio: JP Seabright (she/they) is a queer writer living in London. They have three pamphlets published: Fragments from Before the Fall: An Anthology in Post-Anthropocene Poetry by Beir Bua Press; the erotic memoir NO HOLDS BARRED by Lupercalia Press, and GenderFux, a collaborative poetry pamphlet, by Nine Pens Press. More info at https://jpseabright.com and via Twitter @errormessage.

bottom of page