top of page

"Driving Home", "Everblue, & "Island Saga" by Thomas Zimmerman



Driving Home


a Coltrane solo’s

loping from

the stereo.


The GPS

keeps chiding, “Route

recalculating.”


The music fills

my head and chest.


I feel the sky

is opening.


Wrong turns are now

my specialty.



Everblue


It’s here, my yearly birthday bleed. The everblue

mood descends upon me—or ascends,

from depths of riches I don’t understand.

A darting shark among a shoal, my focus

shifts, to drinks outside last night with friends:

for Sandy, Fran, and Ann, champagne; and beer

for Gary and me. Cool eastern breeze that bore

our laughter, hell, as far as Iowa.

Epiphanies? Yes. Other people give

life meaning. Treat myself as friend (and realize

why I keep on typing fiend). Blue eyes

I got from Mom (from Dad, the gold explosions

near the pupils). Wish my darker sister

happy Mother’s Day, belatedly.



Island Saga


1

What’s happened on the island of your heart?

The queen has hanged herself?

The king’s torn out his eyes?

Your children scatter,

exiles smart enough to sense

a fate accursed,

the rout of free will,

frail spine snapped against a

grim alignment of the stars.

And yet they act.

They suffer, learn, and now return,

like slim shoots in the fields,

like truth that outlasts fact.


2

She drinks strong wine,

and rhythmic words she needs

transform her.

Sea and sky,

and she a maid escaped,

a smoking fortress leagues behind her,

sharks below.

She plies the rudder,

freed to drown,

not contemplating death,

not brave,

just spying land,

soul bared to what she’ll find.




Thomas Zimmerman (he/him) teaches English, directs the Writing Center, and edits The Big Windows Review https://thebigwindowsreview.com/ at Washtenaw Community College, in Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA. His poems have appeared recently in Streetcake Magazine and The Minison Project. His latest book is Domestic Sonnets (Cyberwit.net, 2021). Website: https:/thomaszimmerman.wordpress.com Twitter: @bwr_tom Instagram: tzman2012

bottom of page