top of page

"Electricity" by Katrina Kaye



This gift,

bestowed to you

in flashes of lightning upon brittle twigs.

Your father’s fist in your mother’s womb,

we gave you light for the first time.

Children,

you took this spark and ran with it.

What started as two infants

warming themselves beside the fire of Eden,

erupted into a string of florescence

that hide the heaven man

once learned to count by.

You drew a line between mother Earth

and father Sky

with a shield of stinging light,

a golden fleece covering my body from his stare.

And I haven’t seen the stars in years.

I missed the way your father gazed at me,

embedded me in a black comfort,

even before I birthed you from my seas

we haven’t touched in a millennium.

But I still like to look to him once in a while,

reflect his eye blue skies

in crystal lakes you’ve yet to soil,

count the stars he scattered

into the letters of my name

years ago.

I never thought our children

would push us so far apart.

We never conceived as we cradled you from

crib to crawl

the tear that would come

between our horizons.

The first time we allowed you

to stay up all night,

reading by candlelight.

You properly thanked us

by charting nebula and plotting the

position of planets.

You wrote an ode to your mother,

stung tinsel of gold around my belly,

to radiate against the fall of opaque sky.

but I am no longer the center of your universe.

you grew past oedipal obsession.

This gift,

intended to shield you from the pitch,

keep the monsters at bay,

warm your feet,

you manifested into a weapon.

You tended a minor glow, fanned your flame

into a storm across my body,

unstoppable,

until I can no longer be seen

by father’s bedroom stare.

Made an artificial day of my favorite midnight.

Were you jealous of the way he touched me,

the lightning jagged and curl that connected us for a split second?

Or was it your fear of the darkness,

of the unknown,

of death,

that made you wish away the night’s sky.

That made you think you could battle it

with 24-hour convenience stores

and swing shifts and nightclubs.

Distracted the view of Milky Way

with glowing neon.

You are destined for self-destruction,

Now, I never sleep,

and all my gentle warnings are wearing thin.

I haven’t been able to see past you in years,

you’ve seeped into every sky

I’m ever known,

infiltrated my blackest reserves.

You are too damned bright.

I thought you would fill the gap between us,

I wasn’t expecting you to shield him from me completely.

I search for him in deserted lands

far from your touch,

Africa, South America, Siberia,

among the open plains and mountain tops,

where the night still knows secrets.

Where no synthetic light will keep me up

or blind me from his constellations

where I can still remember the name of the

creatures he conjured for my entertainment.

Children,

there are good things that happen in the dark,

and what this mother wouldn’t give to feel father’s embrace

one more time.

For one moment,

stop pumping your fists

against your father’s nocturnal mood.

We all need some time in the away from the light

once in a while.

It is time to put these children to bed,

so this mother earth can once

again be enveloped in her father sky.

Take a moment,

slip into slumber

and don’t turn to me

when I slide into your room

and turn off that light,

reclaiming all I gave you.

Comments


bottom of page