top of page

"Everything that’s influenced my work/me (After Rosemary Mayer)" by Tara Giancaspro



Leopard print

Grease

My small cat daughter, Simone


Leather

Sugar

My large cat son, Lugosi


The Tom of Finland men who live in my

sinew and swivel my neck to look at

Justin Theroux types on the street


The green dress Keira Knightley wore

in Atonement that I would have worn in

Jovani knockoff form to prom

The night I skipped prom to watch the new Star Trek movie and eat Garden

State Plaza food court cheesesteaks

with Nick Messina


Skull rings

Carrie Fisher

Lactose intolerance


Velvet

Eyeliner

Honeyed goat chevre


The photo of my grandmother grabbing

Sylvester Stallone’s ass when he filmed

the movie Lock Up at our family auto

body shop

The fact that I didn’t have an imaginary friend as a kid but an imaginary

boyfriend

The fact that his name was Jonathan and I still have no idea where that came

from I didn’t even have a crush on

Jonathan Taylor Thomas


Geminis

Aquarians

The Romanov execution


Silver

Oxblood

Anna Karenina buying that train ticket


the tension of routinely calling poly

people “fedora fucker street magicians

named Tyberon and their ren faire ass

girlfriends” but having participated in

polyamory myself, at least twice


Fucking Paul

Not fucking Paul

…but definitely fucking Eric


*****

******

of Tulsa 


Whether stuffed animals have

abandonment complexes and the ache

I feel at those I haven’t rescued from

curbs


a stream of Emotional Support Snapple

Zero Sugar Razz, steady

a stream of emotional affairs, unsteady


Rocky

Network

Fran Fine


The smell of gasoline

The smell of chlorine

Fran Drescher (they are different)


The riveting debate as to whether Sally

Bowles is secretly American and The

New World stages production of The Woodsman

My mother making me get my second

holes pierced at 14 because the cool

(meaning: thin, not respected) girls all

had them, and how they grow pregnant

with pus twice an infected year


Feeling morally superior for not wearing

open-toed shoes

The vulgarity of a Lindt truffle

bursting in your mouth

Singing “Lua” into the casket of my high

school best friend

Leslye Headland’s Sleeping with Other

People

Ascending the stairs with my dress in

my hand like an Austenian heroine 

The Vincent Van Gogh episode of Doctor Who, because I’m not a fucking

 sociopath

Carrie Coon, and how I wish I had a

mother

The moon (sorry)

Two-thirty a.m.

The drummer I want to put me through

the drywall

Seashells, and soap rendered in their

honor

Mosquitos and their cis male

counterparts

Laura Palmer and I sharing a birthday

If my inner child will ever come out of

there

The animatronic Christmas display on

the second floor of the Fountains of

Wayne store the band is named after

The priest from Fleabag

Catholicism

Judaism

And the Westchester father who fucked

me into God’s palm 

Whether that palm was loving or closed

Death Cab for Cutie’s “Cath…”

A nice man I know who can hold 60

Dixon Ticonderoga pencils in his fist

Carly Rae Jepsen

The terminal overuse of the phrase

“iconic”

Dylan Baker playing that child molestor

Signs that say “no dumping”

The written oeuvre of Louise Rennison,

may her memory be a blessing

Christmas snow and the fact that my

dad is a retired fire chief who to this day

forbids me from owning candles but

puts 75 pounds of radioactive lava lamp ass

ornaments on the Christmas tree every year

That in my last fit of suicidal wishin’ and

hopin’ and thinkin’ and prayin’, I

couldn’t shake that my dad would not,

in fact, be better off without me here,

and that is the first time I have ever

added anyone to that side of the list

Tom

John Mahoney in Moonstruck

John Mahoney in anything

Diaphanous 1950’s bathrooms, in pink

The way Bruce Springsteen sings “move” at the end of the bridge in “Spirit

in the Night

”The Saddle Brook Diner

Watching my friends brown out in Tony

Clark’s mom’s hot tub

VH1’s I Love the 80’s in lieu of middle

school friends

My allergies

Unrequited love

Checkerboard Vans

Gene Kelly’s ass

Rainbow sprinkles

An exile from Pittsburgh

Cardinals, whether I like it or not


Sally Rooney

(obviously)            




Tara Giancaspro (she) is the creator of xoxo Gossip Giancaspro, a weekly Substack (taragiancaspro.substack.com) including personal essays, pop culture commentary, and the various and sundry of her silly little life. She has released music under the name Sweaty Lamarr, available to stream everywhere, including "Abbey, I'm Sorry I Stole Your Man," a Jolene sequel from Jolene's perspective. She has been published in Bullshit Lit, Wig-Wag Mag, Drunk Monkeys, Meow Meow Pow Pow Lit, Dusk Magazine, and got bit by a dolphin once, establishing a potentially generational blood feud. Giancaspro can be found on Instagram and Twitter at @SweatyLamarr. She is based in New Jersey, if you couldn't tell by the hair.

Comments


bottom of page