top of page

"For the love of physics", "'The death of the dragonfly", and "Gold and silver" by Shiksha Dheda

For the love of Physics

Oh my little vector,

how I follow thee

-hither to thither-

thou art better than any scalar.

Your resistance decreases my current

initially, but my momentum carries

me through to my

maximum EMF.

You accelerate my velocity,

charge my capacitance,

Oh, my solenoid you

incline my potential energy.

You intensify my electric field

summarise Coulomb’s law.

Better than the apple are you

for this Newton

No longer am I inert-

I accelerate towards your force

and try to exert an equal but

opposite love

upon you



The death of the dragonfly


Chasing its fluttering

little clear

wings, we never realise

when it leads us from

the grassy lakeshore

to the dark cave lands.


So mesmerized

by its disproportionate

body-

so very illogical the image

could have been captured from

a child's imagination,


we follow it.

It appears to be so unattainable

so shiny-

so bright-

but,

when captured in a glass bottle

it looks like any other common

flying insect.


Disheartened by its mediocrity,

we release the prisoner of flight

back into the merciless air,


only to mindlessly search for happiness

by trying to capture the seemingly shiny

dragonfly

once



Gold and Silver


I can be your silver:

-showy, gaudy, ostentatious,


gleaming, glistening, sparkling-

for all to notice.


You can be my gold:

- solid, strong, and sturdy


uncompromising, incorruptible, classy-

for all to envy.


Flaunt me around your

finger as we dance

toward the silver gleaming

moonlit path.

Me

grasping onto

your golden shoulder


anticipating

the golden sun of morrow.


Let us be

entangled –



confused as to where your

light ends

and my darkness

begins.


Forevermorelet me be

your understated silver

and you,

you can be my

timeless gold.




Shiksha Dheda is a South African of Indian descent. She uses writing to express her OCD and depression roller-coaster ventures. Sometimes, she dabbles in photography, painting, and baking lopsided layered cakes.


Her writing has been featured(on/forthcoming) in Brittle Paper, Daily Drunk Magazine, Door is a jar, Luna Luna Mag and Versification, amongst others. She is the Pushcart nominated author of Washed Away (Alien Buddha Press, 2021)


She rambles annoyingly at Twitter: @ShikshaWrites. You can find (or ignore her) at https://shikshadheda.wixsite.com/writing/poetry


bottom of page