top of page

"Ghost Apples", "Rubik's Cube" & "Moon-bow" by Emma Wells



Ghost Apples


Gothically sublime

as Frankenstein’s monster,

they hang as fruitful impostors,

bending boughs under icy loads:

ghostly, phantasmagoric pretenders

like poltergeists in new homes

built upon disused graveyard soil.


Blasts of frozen winds

thrash once glossy skins,

scorching internal fleshy cores

as medieval witches

burning fast with charred hearts

upon patriarchal wooden stakes.


Globular worlds drain hollow,

morphing to echoey spheres

where abstraction overpowers;

concrete nouns slip, frozen-apple elusive:

unsteady upon slippery surfaces.


Fairytale poisoned, spectral apples

dangle in eager expectation;

awaiting an outstretching princess hand -

to enshroud internal, melting madness.


A fair maiden approaches

entranced by watery planets,

spinning as malevolent underworlds.


A slender, frost-kissed arm

reaches out, eager to pick, hold, bite…


She melts away as Eve (Eden: a mere figment).


*


Time passes…


Ghostly apples refreeze,

primed as villains for new victims…



Rubik’s Cube


You’re plastic pieces in my hand,

rotating to form handsome faces;

eyelashes sweep as ballgowns

where eyeshadow, satin-soft,

dapples your chiselled cheek

from near kisses that excite your mind:

you’re transfixed and under my spell…


I’m your Sugar Plum Fairy.


I turn your sliding sides

aiming for precision

seeing you in each triangular wall;

smoothing edges like sandpaper,

tapering off spiky sinews;

erasing imperfections:

striving to form perfect portraits

(you always had too many faces).


Yet, my efforts fail.


After tunnels of time,

your surfaces are plained clean,

ubiquitously characterless:

formatted like streamlined autobahns

of monotonous, predictable grey;

dissolving are your colours

as paint globules in water-pots,

crumbling to sticky residue

wallowing soundlessly

upon the glass jar bottom.


You’re an unseen, but once beautiful palette

adorned with numerous tonal shades:

each mountain peak of paint

is a former vivacious planet -

spinning, rotating in an artist’s mind’s eye;

eager to dispel creative potential -

forming works of grandeur:

wall-proud pieces,

invaluably worthy.


Now…


You’re a forgotten sea urchin,

buried under layers of mundanity;

a gloom of grungy green blankets you,

disguising prior plastic-fantastic faces

(always duplicitous).


Blackening with antiquity

where seaweed bedecks your skin

reminding you of salient touch.


You cower further,

forgetting your soul:

his needed nourishment.


Instead, you shutter your eyes,

forging a self-induced prison

so I can forget you.



Moon-bow


Hardly known as historic women in science,

I flounder on edges of existence:

profoundly elusive, barely seen,

mostly smudged at edges

as charred, spent charcoal;

I blur, lost in tears of forgetfulness

like firewood within wintertime hearths,

blazing fiercely, full of heated flames.


My counterpart: a diurnal rainbow beacon -

the splendour of solar skies;

her fair hand paints artic pale heavens

as awaiting canvases, thick with need,

upon which she impresses chatty,

dashing, obsequious hues:

resplendent, fully seen

in bright beaming sunshine;

she’s even majestic when smouldering

in rainfall ruin like a toppled queen.


Me: I’m an erased memory

or nightmare best tucked away

in a hidden, hushed drawer:

too intrepid is its owner

to claim ownership of me.

I too, like infant bad dreams,

(am the frayed, forgotten one).


My reign is transitory

in gloomy midnight climes

where my painter fingers are ghosts,

merging with nocturnal nightshade

as translucency itself, hidden in water,

dwindling to nothingness

as infinite Russian dolls

where oblivion’s hand erases

with bold, effacing brushstrokes:

muddling who I am,

what I could be.


As Dracula’s existence,

I’m shuffled sideways,

barely documented,

in need of a hopeful lover

to photograph my unravelling

as Kardashians on red carpet runways:


Snap. Snap. Snap.

Golden. Glamour. Glitz.


Yet my beauty is nature-made,

stamped, ordained my Mother Nature’s hand;

I need no filters,

no retouches of foundation;

no flicks of flattering mascara

to enliven my allure.


I just need a nighttime viewer…


Two eyes searching for me

piercing through cloudy blankets of dark,

camera click ready

and perfectly poised

to timelessly steal

my invaluable autograph.


*


Signed and yours,


Moonbow




Emma is a mother and English teacher. She has poetry published with various literary journals and magazines. She enjoys writing flash fiction and short stories also. Her debut novel, Shelley’s Sisterhood, is due to be published in 2023.

bottom of page