top of page

"Home Show Poet" by Jason Melvin



I was at a home show

hot tubs and roof vendors

baked goods and hot sauce

Fancy chamois

that suck up all the spills


What I didn’t expect

was a poet

tucked between

a deck builder

and a coffee cake baker

a young woman

offering to write patrons

A poem

for $10


My hand immediately

reaches into my pocket

here

in the flesh

one of my brethren

a chance to connect

like minds

for only $10



But what would I have her write

The confidence

to write

and hand it over

Immediately

instead of pondering

for months

How do I introduce myself

and not feel weird

it always feels weird


I didn’t buy a poem

or even say hi

I’m a poet, too

it’s a week later

and I still feel guilty

I had $10

I should have bought a poem

even if I couldn’t

introduce myself

but after 46 years on this earth

I still find it hard

to say hi to a stranger




Jason has a website at www.jasonmelvinwords.weebly.com

bottom of page