top of page

"House of Spirits" & "Midnight Sun" by David Estringel




House of Spirits


There’s a

rap, rap, rapping

on my bedroom door.

The rocking chair

creaks.

The ceiling fan light,

overhead, winks

in flirtatious rhythm.

Who else but me

disturbs the dust

and haunts

the cold of these walls

and hungry keyholes?

Shadows

enter at the exit

(I hear)

and outstay their welcome.

I yawn

and stretch

and rub my eyes,

as if to say,

“Time to go home. Party’s over,”

but they don't listen.

Can’t say when it started.

Don’t know when it will end.

Just hoping they’re not waiting

for me to join

the fun.




Midnight Sun

It’s the mornings

when I miss him

most.

A freefall

into whispers

of patchouli

and indentations

of cold sheets,

I devour

ghosts of ache

and breath

that haunted spaces

in between

heated nostrils, lips,

and tongues.

Memory

(the angles of his face)

sustains me,

the current

that drives these limbs,

‘til night

when all is gone

but a hunger

for the rising

of my midnight sun

and kisses

of opiate fire

on my skin.




David Estringel is a Xicanx writer/poet with works published in literary publications, such as The Opiate, Azahares, Cephalorpress, Lahar, Poetry Ni, DREICH, Somos En Escrito, Ethel, The Milk House, Beir Bua Journal, and The Blue Nib. His first collection of poetry and short fiction Indelible Fingerprints was published April 2019, followed Blood Honey and Cold Comfort House in 2022. David has written three poetry chapbooks, Punctures (2019), PeripherieS (2020), and Eating Pears on the Rooftop (2022). His new book of micro poetry little punctures will be released in December 2022. Connect with David on Twitter @The_Booky_Man and his website www.davidaestringel.com.

bottom of page