top of page

"I Think I Could" & "A Former Friend Said" by Anayancy Estacio



I Think I Could


She asked,

“What could I have done

That would have made you stay?”


She saw your error and crime

and implicated herself

in your own devices.


She sought not

for an apology

but had sewn a reconciliation

from patches of guilt

and heartbreak.

Stained, but unacknowledged.


She heard that you cheated

and wondered what she did wrong.


And you wondered

nothing at all.




A Former Friend Said


“You must be fun

at parties.

You can hold my discomfort for me

like a purse

as I go take a piss.


Parties are not the time to

think

or remember.


I can’t block out the past

with your presence here.


Be more fun.

More cool;

Less aware.


Please wrap up your wound.

Your blood is dripping on the floor.

This is such a nice Oriental rug

that is being stained

by you.


I can’t hear the music as well

with the sound of your cries.


Please consider how your pain affects me.

For once.”

bottom of page