top of page

"In Shared Movement, the Clocks Stop", "The Knowledge of Loss"...by Oisín Breen



In Shared Movement, the Clocks Stop


Through me exists a succulent kaleidoscopy,

Warmth through me and over me and in me,

Moments stretched with the tearing colours

Of dimming light: snowfall and a final all-knowing.


And I know, too, the fierce sidelong intimate gash

Of hardened redness, how it skins the south-face

Of poplar trees. It taught me change,

Your love, the prompt to shed flesh.


Now I, who have loved most of all skin pressed to skin,

Ructions, as tongues press, I betray my laughing peers,

Co-conspirators in shivering melodies of gasps,

Of sighs, and momentary immolation.


Now I am become solely your instrument,

Knowing the truth of your love:


You are relentless, and I,

I am your image.




The Knowledge of Loss


I see the alchemy of shame,

and shamelessness,

in the filaments of light in flight,

so much fixated on function,

that it quiets everything with time.


yet, in a comic reworking of trees,

I looked up and saw plastic bags hanging like leaves,

garlands in the branches,

and I mistook them, thought them

a resting place for the birth pangs of the stork.


and today I am bereft,

sad in the absence of my old heroic mother

and her fat gunny sack of leaves and earth-worn remedies,

which, with relish, she salved on both the doing and the dead,

her designs the only real instance of being I have known.



































Woman, outside Damascus Café


She willed me to speak,

But I turned and left,

Heavy with regret,

Pregnant with the memory

Of dust embalmed streets,

And how, with every third step,

The wind spun a story of shape

Spooled from cotton and flesh.



The Navigator


I am spent,

In need of bailing

The boat out,

Yet the sails

Still hang,

And brittle I,

I navigate,

For I am

An instrument

Of the sea.




Irish poet, academic, and journalist, Oisín Breen’s debut, ‘Flowers, all sorts in blossom ...’ was released Mar., 2020. Breen has 163 poems published in 75 journals, including in About Place, Door is a Jar, Northern Gravy, North Dakota Quarterly, Books Ireland, the Seattle Star, La Piccioletta Barca, Reservoir Road, and Dreich. A collection of shorter works, (4² by 5), published by Dreich, is coming soon, followed by a new set of longer work, Lilies on the Deathbed of Étaín and other poems, published by Beir Bua, in January.


bottom of page