top of page

"It doesn't need to be easy to love you" & "maxilla" by Sam Moe



It doesn’t need to be easy to love you


I want to come into your grief house and sit beside you.

We don’t need to open the windows, we can lean against

opposite sides of the couch while it rains outside. The windows

are navy, the Christmas lights make it worse make it better, make it

tolerable, make me love you. The first few lines are always easiest


as they’re the time before the space full of my fullest hearts, the beginning

makes sense but this is second beside third, resting beneath first, what

do I gesture to make you know I care, how do I angle my hands, when

can I be myself around you. But we’re in the grief house, rains are


oh-my-god status, I’m dreaming of tracing my pains into the fabric

of the couch with a knife, I’m easiest to love when I know what

kind of love you’d like. Might you hold me in my own grief house,

no, I cannot be beside anyone when my heart is unflaking, numb,

quiet, can you look at me sobbing or would you prefer other salt,

maybe make me sandwiches on week-old bread, give me water, take


my socks off when I’m sore. Grief house is full, the rain could stop

but I like humidity and winter coats, standing with a hand over my eyes

as our lashes grow, heavy, easiest to want you and I know we’re deep in life

now, I hide my language, I’m underwater, but will you see me, swipe

a beetle off my arm so it doesn’t bite, carry me despite the house, despite,

despite. Used to hold your words, made a new star to carry the blues and violets,


I tried to sit beside you despite the distance and here I am still. When gentle

rain coats the roof, when sleep is a fight, persist in easy ways. I thought I

could tell you now, but it’s not time, can we remain friends even in this thicket

of grief? Maybe I can break my promises to myself, admit to you how night

warms, sometimes warps, my history, how I cry easiest at the thought of you

disappearing, been up late to make sure I don’t miss your teal sounds, we’re

nearing rain’s end but if you don’t know how much I care at this point then


I don’t know how else to tell you. Except besides all the haze-gray dreams I

clipped for your ears, lost light and almost risked losing you, I’ve been given

access to the house but I don’t have a key. I enter under rain roads and silliest


jokes, I’m beside you as you sob, one hand on the fridge handle, one hand

on your chest, I’m not peeking, I’m counting tiles on your kitchen floor.



maxilla


lost, time twists into days, then come three in the morning you’re

near, teeth at my throat, hands pressed to sides, hands to me, warm

from the Tuesday sun. I thought I’d said goodbye to our energy yet

here you are, begging me back again, brilliant beneath the kitchen

lights, lovely as ever as you reach into the fridge for a handful of

dough. We pick at the fruit with our bare hands, which is never

a good idea because everything good bleeds and also I am in love

with the way that you eat strawberries from your palm. Cross-legged

in soft work pants our backs are pressed to the cabinets, I only care

about catching your gaze, I am swallowing every honest thing I’ve ever

wanted to say, I am untrue, I am unchanged, I am still here. You gazing

at the moonlights, bulbous and full, wondering why we’ve run out of

words to say yellow. Outside, the deli is still open, all pink then lilac

reflected in wet streets. Do you miss tasting me? I’m starting to think

I can’t write unless I’m enamored with you. Perhaps that would explain

why I took a break for over a month, took a whole month trying to rid

myself of your presence yet you linger in every stanza and line break

I can see you leering between bursts of language. I guess I missed you

I wonder if you can see it in my jaw.




Sam Moe (she/her) is a writer of fiction, non-fiction, and poetry. She is pursuing a PhD in creative writing at Illinois State University. Her work has appeared in The Tide Rises, The Tide Falls, The Shore, and others. She received an Author Fellowship from Martha’s Vineyard Institute of Creative Writing in June, 2021.

bottom of page