top of page

"Journey through Dead Woman Hollow" by Taylor Mallay



Dead Woman Hollow is a hiking trail in Pennsylvania. In 1988, a woman named Rebecca Wight was murdered there.


The morning of the 4th, I set out to cross

Dead Woman Hollow, a narrow tunnel of

gray-greens and damp, deep browns. July rain had swollen

the bones of the trees, their soft, white roots,

scraped bare, lay like scattered ribs.


My old Nalgene sloshed at my side

all through the day-long trek: half-filled, quarter-filled,

then quiet. When I stopped to rest, I thought of

the woman killed in those woods,

then I thought of myself, alone.


Near dusk, I reached the end: a bleach-blonde grandma

ushered me into her plywood hostel, flicked

her lipstick-stained cigarette at a room lined with

bunk beds holding hikers’ packs and boots, heavy

with the scent of men.


I sighed, sat down on the communal couch next to a young jock,

his red-rimmed eyes reflecting the bright designs of

Scorcese’s Goodfellas playing on a small TV.

I had watched it as a kid, recalled only splattered red

and a man smiling, telling a woman to


go look at something over there, back there—then the fear

on her face once she understands that the gesture is a trap.

Minutes crept. I sank into a sofa cushion, spotted a web

in the window starred with dark husks. But where is the spider?

I searched for her until my muscles went slack.


Clink! I jerked awake. An empty bottle of SoCo had fallen

against another of Crown. The clear sound rang out

like a clap. I turned and saw myself cut up

in the young man’s eyes: thighs, neck, breasts. Quiet.

He lunged; I leapt off the couch, shot through


the room, smooth as a fish or an electric current.

All night, alone, I drifted under flickers of light

at the edge of the Hollow, felt fireworks burst heavy

above my head, felt the smoke enter and enter my body,

the sky showering the ground with red, red, red.




Taylor Mallay is a Vermont-based Midwesterner who enjoys tinkering away at poems here and there. Her work has previously appeared in The Dewdrop, The Write Launch, and West Trade Review, among other publications.

bottom of page