top of page

"Mercy" & "None Of It Lasted" by Mercedes Lawry



Mercy


The only thing I remember from last night’s 

dream is the word mercy, spoken

by a spectral figure. Was it my soul,

crying out because it had been a hellish week

of floods and fury and dithering idiots

spouting lies, and in the petty annoyances

of my small life, that included ants

swarming in my kitchen cabinets?

I scattered diatomaceous earth till it looked

like a bakery explosion, swabbed vinegar 

until it smelled like an aging salad, to no avail

and so I put aside my eco-spirit and dragged out

the killing traps. 


I allow daddy longlegs to live peacefully 

in corners but I can’t abide the sci fi vibe

of the little black bugs who I imagine might be

nesting in the walls and floors, seething,

ready to take over some night I’m dreaming

another mercy dream.


Allergic to the stinging sort,

I do not try to rescue or dispatch

the sonorous wasp that flings itself

at one window then another

like a vaudeville routine, not noticing

the open door for a good long time.

When she finally does and exits,

I puff out a sigh of relief until, moments later,

she’s back at it – smack, frantic buzz,

repeat, for several days, until

I find her on the floor, no autopsy needed.



None Of It Lasted


We dodged the drought, the cyclone,

the taxmen, even the hoarding impulse

but we couldn’t stay lean and limber,

go without sleep, remember everything.

Now creaky and layered in dun spots,

creased and folded, slooped and drooping

with crinkled knees and fleeting night vision,

we are old, old I say, no longer

with a chuckle. It could be any day,

any loose minute in a drab weekend.

Let the roof cave in, the grey paint curl

from the porch, let the rotted steps crumble

to dust and the mold reign supreme.

We’re inside the last chapter

and there’s no surprise ending, 

no rescue.




Mercedes Lawry’s most recent book is Vestiges from Kelsay Books. She’s published three chapbooks and poems in journals such as Nimrod and Alaska Quarterly Review. Her book Small Measures is forthcoming from ELJ Editions, Ltd. in 2024. She’s also published short fiction and stories and poems for children.  

留言


bottom of page