top of page

"Morning Machinery", "On Pound's Free Verse", & "Flesh Locomotive" by William Doreski



Morning Machinery, New Orleans


Fleshy, aortic piping

clutches a ribbed metal building.

Industrial chic. Fencing

to ward off grinning saboteurs.


New Orleans is full of them—

subtle people slinking at dawn

from their beds of nails to smear

graffiti or mess with tricky valves.


Who knows what process occurs

in this blocky, well-piped structure?

Steel tanks of reeking chemicals,

toxic fumes safely funneled away.


Everything interesting happens

beside the railroad, especially

caught in the first yellow light

before the powers dissipate.



On Pound’s Free Verse


A B & B in the Bahamas.

My room’s an enclosed verandah,

but features a private bath.

Windy fronds slap the windows.

Spiders brawny as my fist

scamper across the metal roof

with the music of a hailstorm.


I don’t remember flying here

for a meeting of the Ezra Pound

Society, which always gathers

in warm but obscure places

where Keynesian economics

don’t necessarily apply.

Every year I remind myself


to grow a beard for this conference,

then forget and attend clean-shaven.

A long walk to the hotel where

the sessions occur. I couldn’t sleep

among all those anti-Semites,

who stay up late singing hymns

to the Fatherland and plotting


to force democracy to its knees.

I’ll read my paper on Pound’s

delicate webs of free verse,

then catch the boat to Miami

where the cocaine-tainted air

will soothe with little whispers.

I slept well in this makeshift room,


despite the clattering spiders.

I can’t name the plants clamoring

at the windows, but like Pound’s verse

they embody a plenitude that looks

healthy but may be toxic

to unwary folks who regard

the entire world as their salad.



Flesh Locomotive


Raking the raw façade of spring,

heaping last autumn’s rubble,

exposes gestures and attitudes


nothing human can replicate.

Snowdrops, crocus, daffodils.

The soil knuckles into thousands


of cocked fists. Peepers retort

in their own terms, reclaiming pools

that wouldn’t fill without snowmelt.


So why did I dream of punishing

this landscape by laying track

and becoming a flesh locomotive


brutalizing across the hills,

plowing through half-thawed lakes,

crushing lonely farmhouses


where children still lay in bed?

In a reek of grease and fumes I spent

myself smashing through cities,


scarring a groove wide as a highway.

I scored down to the bedrock,

embossing rails and ties in patterns


some might mistake for stitching

following tremendous surgery.

Was this my reincarnation


as machine, the sci-fi fantasy

realized in diesel form?

This morning after two days


of rain the land looks vulnerable.

I should be careful with my dreaming.

Too easy to scar the topsoil


and frighten the coming flowers,

the mechanical bulk of me

clumsy and often derailed.




William Doreski lives in Peterborough, New Hampshire. He has taught at several colleges and universities. His most recent book of poetry is Mist in Their Eyes (2021).His essays, poetry, fiction, and reviews have appeared in various journals.

Comments


bottom of page