top of page

"Most Days, Dystonia is a Background Hum", "Composite Sketch" & "Just a Bird" by Margaret King




Most Days, Dystonia is a Background Hum


Most days, dystonia is a constant background hum,

Others, a Beethoven symphony

But episodically, it’s a death metal concert–

Neck muscles pulling so violently

My teeth clash together. The tremors

And spasms unrelenting, causing

Fluid buildup in my face, drooping eyes

My back a metal sheet, barely bendable


I’ve experienced abdominal spasms

So strong that I’ve thrown up,

Rib muscles so tight it’s hard to breathe–

Like an anxiety attack, and I have to

Talk myself down: “it’s just the dystonia.”


These are the things other people

Don’t see. The DBT group therapist says,

“With disabilities, radical acceptance

Might be needed on a daily basis

And it might involve accepting

You see what others cannot see.”


I’ve tried to rest today, only doing:

The course evals, emails, laundry,

Cooking, driving my teen to school,

Out of spoons by 11 AM

And the 2nd shift is coming:

Driving kids to martial arts after dinner,

The promised stop for groceries

For the promised holiday party.


The rest of the month stares me down.

I said “yes” to too much, somehow.

I want to say “yes,” again, and again.

Yes to the holidays, yes to outings

To concerts, walks, coffee dates,

Teaching more classes, volunteer work–

To life itself


I think about all the upcoming “no’s,”

Try to reframe them:

Instead, I’m saying yes

To afternoon naps with the cat

Self-care, warm blankets, books

Space to think, maybe


Sometimes poems only come to me

During the middle of a migraine.


Sometimes I wonder:

Are my good weeks the stolen ones?

Or is dystonia stealing all the other weeks

From me? The tai chi teacher in me

Says…my life is equally

Made up of both the good weeks and the difficult ones

They don’t exist without the other.


I look at the holiday cards accumulating

From my spoonie penpals

The ones who feel good enough

To send them. They make me feel

Less forgotten.

And I know they’ll understand

Both the words I’ll send someday

And the silence in between.


Composite Sketch


Someday we'll be the last ones left

To remember what life was like before internet, cell phones, smart phones, texting, social media

As our parents' generation dies off

Then it will be just us


You said there was a magic to the frustration

Of being a kid in the 80's & 90's ,

Of wanting more, knowing more was out there

And that you had to wait to touch it


"But," I said, "there was a slower pace of life

And precious serendipity

And don't you remember

How when you hung out with friends or family

No one was checking their phones?"


Back then, it seems, to me

We were either alone, or together

Not so much in between

And now we're mostly all alone together

Most of the time

Less alone

And less together


How in high school we'd stay til midnight at the Greek diner

And no one's mom was texting

No one was looking for us at all


And you said, "that wasn't me

Your memory's already unreliable

We didn't even know each other then"

And I said

"That's because it feels like we've always known each other"


And you often cite

When I get all Luddite again

That we met on social media

And stayed in touch all these years via texting

Not, apparently, by the grace of God


And I say, "that wasn't me

Your mind's already going

We first met in person, I remember the day"

And you said

"That's because it feels just like yesterday when we met,

I still remember us young."


And I said, "do I know you?

Aren't you the one with the kraken for an avatar?

Do I know you at all?

I know I used to have a thing for you

But now I can't separate the online you

From this person in front of me.

Didn't I used to go to your house to play Mario Bros?

It was just down the block."


"No, no, that wasn't me at all.

That was Davie, and like all the kids you grew up with

He's not online, really.

He's dead, or incarcerated, or working 4 jobs

Or he has 12 friends on Facebook

And hasn't changed his profile picture in 7 years."


And I said, "I remember

Jumping on AOL after every X Files episode

To chat about it with a friend

Even though I'd see him at school the next day

That's my 1st memory of the internet

I was 17 and it was all new

Email was romantic

The romance of it was in the extraneous

Which has largely been cut out today."


As for that X-Files friend,

We still like each other's Instagram posts...

Once in awhile.

And I guiltily thought about how I checked my phone

Precisely twice on our last walk in the woods

(It's a pandemic! I'm a mom!

What if my child got sick at school?)


And I silently vowed to myself

Not to check my phone even once

The next time we were together

2 Gen Xers

Who'll someday be the last ones left.



Just a Bird


I message you and tell you I need to talk to you about death

That I have some questions

I'm walking in the city we've met in so many times

There are sirens going by

And there's a sidewalk that goes to nowhere

I'm walking in the street

I've had to park far away

Things look different but yet the same but yet different

All the parking rules have changed

The mailman is the only other one out

And looks at me questioningly, not unkindly

Like I'm a curio shop novelty

Who's left a window display

To sashay grandly down a mythical American lane

In a ruffled frock and swinging a parasol

About to break out into song and dance like in a Hollywood musical

I think about all the things we did when we were young

How you biked across the city to meet me

Almost getting your ass kicked at a stoplight

How hard I laughed when you recounted the tale

How many things we laughed off

Back then

That don't seem funny at all now

That permeating undercurrent of hard-edged menace

That was a constant childhood companion

That sometimes gave our lives

The thrill of danger, adrenaline--

There's a continuous wall of traffic

And I patiently wait for traffic to clear or cars to stop

In my twenties I would confidently walk out into any traffic

Making it all halt

These days

Maybe it's the age of distracted driving

Or the sheer increase in the number of vehicles on the road

But it's at least in part the growing chronic awareness

Like a fly buzzing around my head

Of my health, my limitations, my mortality, my chronic pain

I'm not so confident crossing the street anymore

I thought women were supposed to become more confident with age

But these days

I think about how much more fragile things seem

The world, our health, our bodies

Life of all and every kind

The older I get,

The more I feel everything constantly hangs in the balance

Here is a long, curving hill with a narrow curb

I always used to walk on as a child, balance beam style

I do it again, and don't falter, barely looking down

But the vague image of twisting an ankle

Is pounding at the gates of my mind

Whereas at 4 or 5 years old

All I thought about

Was how magical the trees and rocks looked all the way down

Dirt flies into my eyes

Somehow getting past the barrier of my glasses

But it's still COVID era and

I don't want to wipe my eye without hand sanitizer

But hand sanitizer will burn my eye

So I walk with the dirt rubbing my eye

And I think about how

It takes my eyes a lot longer to adjust to the light

But also to the dark

I think about the last time we walked

On the lake bluffs

A blackbird flew out of the brush

Into your face, hissing,

And you started, though I thought

Nothing in nature could faze you

"Just a bird," I said

As gently as I could.


bottom of page