top of page

"Night Walking" by Maud Lavin



In Singapore, exiting the subway, alone,


After 11 at night, transferring


to the bus, waiting in line at the stop,

grabbing a seat, next to an unknown

man, on for four stops, climbing off,

street dark, walking alone.


The air thick around me, also

soft and active like a runny egg. I’m

sweating, even this late at night. The

only one on the long ped-crossing over

the highway, climbing down the steps,

in front of a school, now dimmed except

for a security light or two. I see

the highrises up ahead but no one

on this side of the street. Vegetation glints

in the dark, tropically large, thick, scented. Sounds

I can’t identify, animal, wind, coming from the density.


Yet, I feel so safe. I walk and glide, wrapped in the dark,

Thinking, in the equatorial dark, of swimming tomorrow.


My love Chicago, not so safe.

We’re going to Jazz Showcase,

three blocks from our house,

Walking out together, my husband and me.

Maybe 30 degrees out, 7:30, winter dark.

Holiday lights, strings of them,

Still on trees, around the yards, not a

cloud, the lights bright, glitter and shine.

Crisp air, crisp lights. Haven’t been for a night walk

in ages. Here, I stroll alone only during the day.


We live a few blocks from a subway stop,

and in the nearby alleys, drug deals,

and guns to go with the sales.


As we walk, I remember Singapore, the unrelenting heat,

the generous nights, when I went around the city alone, sweating as if

bathing, unafraid. How welcoming, a city without guns. A city that

hugged me in the dark.



Pushcart nominee Maud Lavin has published recently in JAKE, Roi Faineant, Heimat Review, and Red Ogre Review, and earlier in the Nation, Harper's Bazaar, and elsewhere. One of her books, CUT WITH THE KITCHEN KNIFE, was named a New York Times Notable Book. A Guggenheim Fellow, she lives in Chicago where she writes, edits, and runs the READINGS series at Printers Row Wine.

bottom of page