top of page

"nobody ever got slapped over my alopecia", "next time i will just let it fly"...by J. Archer Avary



nobody ever got slapped over my alopecia


punked on april fools day

caught up in the monkeyshines

of my aspirational barber

joelinton’s barber

i booked my appointment

for the most anticipated haircut

since my hair grew back

from stress-induced alopecia


still in recovery, me

from the rudeness of strangers

from inappropriate staring

comments like

‘you need a better barber’ and

‘what kind of cancer is that, bro’

yes, it bothered me

not enough to slap a man, tho


truth be told

maybe i’m the foolish one

‘cos this tidbit proper boils my piss

at ten a.m. sharp, standing

outside the barbershop

ten thousand monkeys in my fist

looking for a bitch to slap

but the joke was me



next time i will just let it fly


I pulled my intercostal muscle pre-drinking for the football match

over too-small margaritas with not enough tequila

waiting on pork enchiladas from a too-slow kitchen.


I considered my physical need to sneeze in a post-pandemic restaurant

versus the social fallout of such a spectacle.


I don’t even know these people, but they are human beings and deserve

not to be sprayed at close range with someone else’s aerosols.


the sneeze came on hard but I shut it down,

sparing some nuns and their triple-cheese nachos a blast of sputum

through no small feat of physical exertion.


I am not a young man anymore. unable now

to absorb the brute force of unrequited energy with my porous ribcage.


the pain remains, sharp but tolerable.

I feel it in the night when I’m sleeping or when I cough, or blow my nose

that persistent throbbing deep in my core.


when it’s healed I will still feel the ache

like an echo in a warehouse, taking up the empty space.



the less you know the better you sleep


Vladimir Putin in judo bathrobe

all smirk and tinkle

riding on his high horse

sidesaddle

to Dresden because

all roads lead to Dresden

when all you read is Vonnegut


you should be here now

in this karaoke bar

where the bright-eyed dictator

sings blueberry hill

to captive air-hostesses with

veneered smiles

hair in shellacked buns


standby as we plunge headfirst

into a new world order of

Flipper songs in TV commercials

Salvador Dali in a car chase

on the San Marino freeway

singing LIFE

is the only thing worth living for


and when nothing is left

we find ourselves

begging for an ounce

of common decency




J. Archer Avary once broke a hand in a hot tub accident. That’s all you need to know to understand the process behind his Pushcart nominated poetry. Twitter: @j_archer_avary

Comments


bottom of page