top of page

"One-Legged man" by Ken Tomaro




it’s just a different sunrise in the fall

the sun is bright but muted

the clouds are dense and low

and I am thinking about the future

about how there is no manual for it

no all-knowing oracle to show me the way

I have taken the first step with a gentle nudge

but now I stand frozen

one leg firmly in the future, one leg in the now

stiff with fear

unable to move forward or back

my mind trembling like a newborn fawn

unaware if I am walking into

the land of milk and honey or

the spinning blades of a woodchipper

and like the spider in the bouncing web

on this cool windy day

I am merely hanging on




Ken Tomaro is a writer living in Cleveland Ohio whose work reflects everyday life with depression. His poetry has appeared in several online and print journals and explores the common themes we all experience in life. Sometimes blunt, often dark but always grounded in reality. He has 4 full-length collections of poetry, most recently, Potholes and Perogies available on Amazon.

bottom of page