top of page

"Our Species: A Bio-Note of Homo Sapiens", "Birthplacing"...by Yuan Changming



Our Species: A Bio-Note of Homo Sapiens


So, we distinguished ourselves as

Bipedalists eating cooked foods


So, we’ve become frenzy

Makers of all types of waste


So, we will immigrate to

Mars after ruining Earth


So, we are a unique species

The only storied creatures


(So, in a sense, our inner

Sense has no innocence)




Birthplacing


Having nothing better to do, I kill

Time by looking at a traditional

Chinese painting on my iPad


Much enlarged, it appears like

A plain sheet of rice paper

Smeared with ink. I view it


In the presence of bonsai; I

Drop several thick strokes to the floor

Of history, leaving a few fine lines


Behind the sofa, & failing

To catch a colorless corner

Between black and white


It is a landscape newly relocated

Into my heart’s backyard. Then I sit

On my legs, meditating about there


Being no light in the picture, no

Shadow of anything, no perspective

As in hell. Isn’t this the art of seeing?



Seeing Is Simply Being: for Helena Qi Hong


1/ Your Features


Between my two dark pupils

Exists an unseen black hole, where

I hide my entire inner being, which

Sucks all the rays

Emitted from your body as I keep

Gazing at you

With an enlightened heart


2/ Your Expressions


Lighter than the light music of moonlight

Your smiles shine through the darkest moment

Of last night

While your gaze, softer

Than the soft power of raindrops

Penetrates the hardest stone

Within my heart




Yuan Changming hails with Allen Yuan from poetrypacific.blogspot.ca. Credits include 12 Pushcart nominations & 13 chapbooks (most recently E.dening) besides appearances in Best of the Best Canadian Poetry (2008-17), BestNewPoemsOnline & Poetry Daily, among others across 48 countries. Yuan served on the jury and was nominated for Canada's National Magazine (poetry category).

bottom of page