top of page

"petrology" and "acrostic for human-lion relations" by Liam Burke

petrology


maybe you determined inert at flatline maybe topography never the way you wanted flat water table immersing your mouth pointed nose I studied petrology saw your face in the rock no I didn't no

there is another name for this your inch- by-inch erosion without features you are a threat mass lodged so in my throat I can't speak we buried

you deep your tongue

become marble your brows

ossified


white of your rendered bone

unthinkable

our unwavering sentinel

where also this registers some level

your teeth keep you close now

breast of the earth

where I unearthly soak in

your sublimated sweat



acrostic for human-lion relations


“If a lion could speak, we could not understand him.”

-Ludwig Wittgenstein


Like any other polite predator, if a lion could speak he’d tell me of dirty water, rusted blood, near-fresh kills to share with guests. Broken bones his cutlery, we’d dine under the sheer string quartet of flies, lie under the stink of meat, blanketed by the hot breath of dusk.

Even if I forgot all but the lust of the hunt,

a life spent at the tip of the spear,

the drum of blood in my ear

it's the nights I’d remember -

not heat-haze, not the glimmer of summer

gazelling away across the savannah.




Liam Burke (he/him/himbo) lives in Ottawa, Canada, on unceded Algonquin Anishinaabe land. He is most recently the co-author of 'machine dreams' with natalie hanna (collusion books, 2021) and ‘Orbital Cultivation’ with Manahil Bandukwala (collusion books, forthcoming). His work has most recently appeared in INKSOUNDS, the Daily Drunk, Savant-Garde, the Jupiter Review, and long con magazine, and is forthcoming in Sledgehammer Lit.

Comments


bottom of page