top of page

"Pissing in the Bushes", "My YouTube Viewing History", & "Bad News" by Charlotte Cosgrove




Pissing in the Bushes


I’ve just seen a man piss in the bushes

Opposite my house.

It’s the same place the school kids hide their cider.

An awning of privets disguises it all.

Catacombs are secreting receipts

Of expensive dinners,

New shoes, adulterer’s gifts.

Aluminium wrappers are blowing in

From the street.

Old cat’s teeth are buried in the soil -

Treasured dentistry.

I watch it all,

Everyday -

Something different.

This man pisses freely

As if he is hosing the greenery.

I imagine it ricocheting off leaves,

My eardrums tingle for it.

Just another Saturday afternoon.

He turns, catches me peeping -

I hide myself.

I am the one exposed.




My YouTube Viewing History


Lately my YouTube viewing history has changed.

It used to be pop songs,

Old episodes of TV shows from the 90s.

It's been a gradual happening.

A long slide into addiction

Like the way a teenager slowly acquires

A thirst for vodka and tobacco.

My friend showed me a video of popping spots.

Big oozy boils of red and yellow

Like a McDonald's about to burst open.

I told her I was disgusted,

Said I’m not looking at that

But I typed it in when I got home

Thousands of videos

The thumbnails - mountainous tiles of

Swelling pus under the skin - volcanic

Like landmines.

I sat and watched them for hours.

9 minutes, 3 minutes, 24 minutes

It all added up.

If I’d just watched the video in the car on the way home

Maybe I wouldn’t have got myself to where I am now -

Deleting history.




Bad News


The post hasn’t been, yet.

The letterbox has never had so much attention.

A noise. Birds on the roof coo and caw and converse together.

They’re old fish wives.

Hoisting up their chests, they don’t even realise

They’re the neighbourhood watch.

It’s bred into them.

Any sight of the unfamiliar they’ll be gone.

Inside the house, quieter, anticipatory,

Waiting for the postman to turn the corner sharply all in red.

Here he comes.

The birds fly away, the letter is opened

It begins.




Charlotte Cosgrove is a Poet and Lecturer from Liverpool, England. She is the founding Editor of Rough Diamond Poetry Journal. Her work has been published in print and online in numerous anthologies and journals. Her first poetry book Silent Violence with Petals will be published later this year with Kelsay Books.

bottom of page