top of page

"Rogue" by Katy Naylor

I always found it funny

that Rogue’s skin held so much power

that her touch could take you whole

knock you out

suck you dry


The thought is dizzying:

the treasures that could course through that gate

the world a super-charged buffet

unlimited

if you don’t show some restraint

if it doesn’t drive you mad

if you only reach out and touch


My skin, my skin is something else

my skin has drawn only eyes, only hands

over the years

at parties, in bars, offices and trains

so many trespasses on that terrain


My smile stayed frozen in the corner

they drained a spark that was never theirs to take


But listen, mister

you don’t need super-senses, mutant powers

to tell a change is coming

the grey streak in my hair a sign

as clear as lightning, if you know how to see


One day, soon

I’ll walk down the street

ungloved, crackling

you'll cross the road to greet me

and I’ll hold out my hand



Katy Naylor lives by the sea, in a little town on the south coast of England. She has work published in places including Emerge Literary Journal, Selcouth Station and The Bear Creek Gazette. Find her online at voidskrawl.uk and on twitter @voidskrawl.

bottom of page