top of page

"Smuggled Images" by Anne Whitehouse



I


Sister Three was on the phone,

and she was outraged. Sister Two

had told her about the photos

I had taken that afternoon

of our mother lying dead

in the open casket

in the viewing room

of the funeral home.


Sister Three scolded me

for my lack of respect

and demanded I delete the pictures.

She said Sisters One and Two

agreed with her.


We each have our own ways

of grieving, I wanted to say,

but I was too spent to argue.

“All right,” I said, “I’ll do it.”

One by one, I deleted the pictures,

while my daughter, sitting next to me

on the bed in the hotel room,

confirmed it to my sister.

“Okay,” she replied, mollified.

I could see she’d been prepared

for an argument I hadn’t given her.


As soon as she hung up,

I reinstalled the photos.

“It’s none of her business,”

I told my daughter.

“These photos are precious to me.”



II


Nearly ten years after my mother’s death,

I stare at these last images of her.

She died soon after her cancer diagnosis.

She had no time to waste away.


In my pictures she is lying tranquilly

against the white silk lining

of the casket. Her eyes are closed,

her face is made up, and her hair arranged.

She looks like herself, and yet not

like herself. She is wearing a dress

of navy-blue velvet, and her hands are folded.

On her left wrist is a silver link

bracelet made by Sister One.


I recall the mortician wringing his hands,

speaking softly with the right note of sadness,

yet clearly proud of his handiwork

and eager for us to see what he had done.


An impulse made me take the photos

after he left the room. Even though I knew

I never could solve the mystery of my mother,

I knew I would want to keep these images

close to my heart.


bottom of page