top of page

"sometimes resilience is knowing when to break", "staircases of sunshine"...by Dane Lyn



sometimes resilience is knowing when to break


paper thin membranes darken to space vacuum black,

just before being left behind by

the monarch that tore through them.


plastic is snapped, allowing the glow chemicals to join—

incandescent illumination

searing lightning bright against the night.


mazel tov sits on the tongues of loved ones

until after the gently wrapped glass

splinters under practiced feet.


the heart of a dying man cannot be reached with cpr alone,

ribs must snap to the rhythm of Staying Alive

to send blood to organs.


why is it then that I want to be healed without fissures,

without birthing pains, without

violence.



staircases of sunshine


follow fairy footprints in the mud

to a little corner garden

bees are just awaking with a buzz,

high from the idea of a Sunday

let their frenzy lead up

staircases of sunshine


bioluminescent jellyfish


light is created by prismatic cilia

in 7th grade, I cared so hard,

wished on stars to be accepted

that beat to scatter color.


I didn’t fit,

in the social strata there were only two kids below me,

carnivores, they snag their meals,

a super religious kid, who was fine


no one teased her, because she didn’t

care, and Dina

with tentacles.

Dina was short,


Dina had a pronounced limp,

students called her an animal

made dog noises at her.


bottom dwellers.

we became close,

note exchanging, locker combo knowing,

friends, and then


we weren’t and I was mad;

predator

I don’t even remember what we fought about,

cannibalistic


I barked at Dina in the halls.


I am bravest when I cry

maybe the reason that I love

the beach early morning is because

it tastes of bravery.


soft sand sucking at bare feet,

sandpipers following each diminishing wave

each breath falling over one another,

receding,


saltwater stinging raw sensitive skin where eyelids meet.

for in tears or in ocean

lies that tenderness,


that acknowledgment that

things still matter, that

life still matters,

that I still matter.

imitation of still water


long ago I accepted

that I’m not everyone’s cup of tea,

that I’d be impossible to drink out of,

that the tea would taste of tepid water left in the microwave.


long ago I learned

that my circus isn’t anyone else’s,

that all the monkeys were mine,

that I didn’t want to perform for the crowds.


long ago I worked out

that I don’t march to a different beat;

that my personal drummer resigned

that I kept stepping on his heels.


long ago I figured

that I won’t end up finding my ducks,

that they won’t ever be in a row,

that I’ll never know why people want them like that anyway.


long ago I discovered

that my mold wasn’t broken after being used

that it wasn’t discarded because I was so extraordinary,

that I just wasn’t paying attention and my hand knocked it over.


these things became little jokes hiding in my pockets;

every once in a while, I’d shift my weight,

and they would dig into me funny.


I would stretch my back high or pretend to crack my spine and

jiggle them just right,

so they no longer jabbed at me.


today I sit in imitation of still water,

hoping that they forget I exist because

all it takes to hurt is one wisp of a twitch.




Dane Lyn is a nuerodivergent, genderqueer, educator, poet, and glitter enthusiast with an MFA from Lindenwood University. Find them in L.A. with their partner, constructing blanket forts, caring for their menagerie of teens, snakes, lizards, dogs, rabbits, and cats, and ridding their shoes of beach sand. Dane’s work can be seen in Quillkeepers, Gnashing Teeth, Gutslut, and Imposter.

Comentarios


bottom of page