top of page

"Sprite", "Portrait of a Lady in a Walmart Parking Lot, and "Hollywood Dreams" by Emm Corcoran

Sprite


I imagine: shrinking so small to fit inside of a rose,

I feel the soft petals against my skin & the intoxicating scent -

pink sunshine cotton-cloud soft.

Out I come from my cocoon; sprouting translucent wings from my tiny bones.

Fragile, microscopic sparkles - the day has shifted into night now.

I fly up above the blue green grass & up above the trees.

Up above the lightning bugs & foxes' telepathy, moonlit gardens &

lines of laundry.


Portrait of a Lady in a Walmart Parking Lot


A blonde beauty with an angel-like face; round as the moon,

a young mom. Husband in the store, kids at school.

She's got a plastic fork in one hand, cigarette in the other - it's raining &

fog hits the Walmart parking lot like a tranquil morning in the mountains

of Japan.

She sits unruffled in the drivers' seat of the minivan, a mouthful of soggy

hotcakes like hot butter & coffee spilled all over an old mattress.


Hollywood Dreams


Everyone has vanished from the land of big dreams & silver screens,

the eternal stars left in sand & shambles.

A continuous matrix of technicolor landscapes & Marilyn's handprints -

are they lost or chosen?

Forever frozen.

Commenti


bottom of page