top of page

"Steam" & "Eyebright" by D. Parker



Steam


Belly bloated with mint leaves. Brew for a minute or two. She sets two slipware beakers on the counter. The blue ones with navy swirls. Again, though she knows hers will sit alone. She is not still. She watches: the clock on the wall, the watch on her wrist, her phone. Sits, sighs, stands. Slices a lemon paper thin. The triangles almost transparent when she inspects them. Drops a slice in each beaker. Wraps her hands around me, checks that I keep well. I am warm still, but the mint will wilt, I want to say. A moment longer, it will wilt. She must have sensed my unease. She lifts the lid, spoons the leaves. I exhale in relief. She waits. Stands, drums her fingers on the counter. In moments like these, I wish to comfort her. To stretch and pat her hand. Cool her worries. Soon she will drop thick honey into her beaker. Just for her, not the other. Soon she will lift me, tilt me, smile at the rising steam. Soon she will take her beaker out of sight. The other will sit here, next to me, cold. Empty.



eyebright (1)


the blade cuts

tender stem

i slip the sprig

between the pages of a poem

press them shut


on my way to you

the book hangs heavy

against my hip

in the darkness of my bag

bright eyes follow your words

expose the imposters

memorise your honesty disguised

as fiction

they’ll (un)pick your truths for me

bury my doubts

in shallow ground


(1) If you carry a sprig of eyebright in your pocket, you will know if your companions are telling the truth



D. Parker spends most of her time surrounded by books both at work and at home.

Comments


bottom of page