top of page

"STILLNESS", "ANGEL OF KINDNESS", & "STAIRWAY" by Aderohunmu Abdulrokeeb



STILLNESS


Of what use is the roaming of your thoughts

in a desert field. of what use is your calling

and screams.

the only fillet holding

your joy leads to damnation.

every boy you see know each corners

to build a bank, but you always fell on

the banked corners of your life.


I carve a glyph of my imagination

with a shrub, I have forgotten that hard

planks are fiend to the termites

mother thawed each part:

--pruning the edges of her heart

--painting it with obscure colours

I imagined how my night will hold ceremonies

to my body, which always resurface

drowned fish, feasting on worms that

wage wars to the belly


I imagined rooms that lit up faces with delight

where the history of yesteryears is read

with the real language, and to prune

where each shape takes the

semblance of betrayal.


I might not come back here

to feed you the pill that cure my predicament

that knows no bound

but I am here tonight, watching the stars and the moon

feeding my body with metaphor of loss .





ANGEL OF KINDNESS


For Captain T


Your heart, a candelabrum, lighting rooms

engrossed in darkness.

making me to envisage about land

where dreams come true


Your words, written in letters of your verses

' I'm hard to be broken'

losing my thoughts to the shrapnel

that enslaved me.


You told me how my words are getting weighty

'boy, do not allow grief get too much of you'

and I remembered the night I put

a rock in my mouth

the night the song in my throat

levitate on nothingness.

and I remember that,

I'm not too late to touch beauty


' everything around me is betraying me'

here, your heart is at the brink of fire

each thump of your chest was accompanied

with dolours upon dolours and

dolours

upon dolours

each sound you made is cupped with regret.

maybe life has a way of scrubbing

walls with decorations

and that night, you redraft the content of your plans,

excavating the leaking roofs,

meshing your rooms with water of pains





STAIRWAY


when I heard my mother sob over the cracks in her body

and Golgotha of thoughts slit through her heart

I, running on fragmented glass take a caution


Every tear on her eyes rise

Every tear on her eyes dries


Here, I rehearsed slowly to the music choking

the waters in me

it's the motion in me that took a break

from the drizzling of rain, of fires, of cold.


I secluded my mouth from these

-- stale waters

-- unmoved rivers of affection


It's not the the darkness that fogged these lights

It's the feet that danced to the dirge

from bloody wayfarers


Tonight, I will saunter my feet to my mother

I will croon a song that unchain the chains of the stainers

Her origin wasn't choreographed with pain

She is the healing, the water, the water


and when next she bludgeoned her peace with the stairways

that jabbed her feets

before rehearsing her body to the motion

that stood her still on the ground of healing


I will

kneel,

and preach,

and sing,


There I will unmute waiting songs in her throat,

I will push the bird fleeing in her mind nest

It's not the sunlight that breaks on her back

it's not the heavy rain that hurls coldness to her flesh


cataloguing pains is the arrangements of fires on a parched throat




Aderohunmu Abdulrokeeb is a poet, whose pen name is Bonnylad.He is an undergraduate at the University of Ibadan. He hails from Ogun state, Nigeria. He's jovial and loves the presence of little children. He was the winner of (SO IT WAS YOU) poetry contest, February edition in 2020.His works has featured in voice lux journal, kalonopia magazine, fiery scribe review,Kalahari review commune writers and elsewhere.

Comments


bottom of page