top of page

"Stories I Cannot Tell" & "The Complication" by Rachel Mallalieu




Stories I Cannot Tell



Here’s the story I want to tell—each morning

I got up before dawn

to make the fire and cook

rice, and while the water boiled,

I hung on a strong branch of the pomelo tree

because I thought it would make me taller


I’ll explain the way I fastened

on a headlamp at four am

to cut and drain the rubber trees

before class; it’s how I paid for college

because after my parents paid my sister’s ransom

there wasn’t any money left for me


But I cannot tell those stories;

they belong to my neighbor

My stories are bland and white

like milk


As for heritage? My father’s Dutch last name,

and my mother’s Irish hair, no other language

spoken but English, unless you count

the way we used words like laceration

and dehiscence when describing

our wounds


Once, my family left a Halloween party and

noticed police cars and an ambulance

racing into the parking lot of a bar, and

although he was dressed like a farmer,

my dad followed the sirens and

rushed in to find a man with a gun-

shot to the chest; he started compressions,

rode with him to the hospital

and came home later with blood spattered on

his straw hat and overalls


My mother was frightened of water and held

her breath when we drove over bridges

When I was older, I found out

that when she was six,

her brother drowned and she

couldn’t forget the way my grandmother

fell to the ground when given the news


I screamed in fourth grade when a boy named

Andrew pushed me against the school’s

brick wall and kicked me in the groin

he pinched my arms and thighs

I did not know that my cousin Andrew

forced my younger sister to do shameful

things; I thought the hidden bruises on my

thighs were the worst thing a boy

named Andrew could do


As I write them down, these

stories seem too meager

to compose a childhood

so you’ll forgive me if I

mention the time I left

the rice unattended, which allowed

the dog to steal my family’s breakfast and

fearing my mother’s wrath, I ran away into the

woods, and when I became hungry,

I ate the fruit that grows along the forest floor




The Complication


The baby is still feeding

when I’m rushed back

to the operating room.

My legs are numb so I do not feel

the clots which soak the sheets.


He scrubs my abdomen and

prepares to open the incision so

recently closed.

I need some help he shouts

as I plunge into

brilliant darkness.

Here, there is nothing but time.


My oldest son sprints ahead of me

on a beach in Malibu.

I round the bend and do not see him,

and now the waves turn violent.

I fall to my knees and scream

his name—Nathan!

He laughs. I look up

and see him conducting

the ocean as he

stands atop a small bluff.


The sons who haven’t arrived

hover in the shadows and whisper.

It is dark and I cannot see

the color of their eyes.

But I already know their names.


Unexpectedly, the sky lightens.

My fussy newborn is placed upon

my chest and quiets.

Oh Luke—

you of copper hair and warrior eyes.

So new I cannot bring myself to say

your given name aloud.




Rachel Mallalieu is an emergency physician and mother of five. She writes poetry in her spare time. She is the author of A History of Resurrection (Alien Buddha Press). Her recent work can be found or forthcoming in Haunted Waters Press, Nelle, Entropy, Tribes, Dialogist, Rattle and elsewhere.

bottom of page