top of page

"Taking, Care" & "Sip-soaked" by K Weber



Taking, Care


I was in the squares of Savannah,

moon eyed and just-wed, honey-sunned, while

relatives plucked my grandmother’s best

things and flowers. After the funeral, before


the big auction, familial teeth and their twice

removed seething emerged in Ohio, gnawing

the valuables faster than her cancer; beautiful

objects and meaning sinking into the stomachs


of their hungriest pockets. I returned on Thursday

from the squares of Savannah, still shaded by

October’s magnolia and southern live oak

memories. I was a new wife missing the closest


still-married family member. There was ease in

our many midwestern days. I had to pick from an

upheaval of leftovers, her once-loved

possessions. I took the angel, the quilt. I grabbed


LIFE magazines, writing paper, and slim books

I’d never see her read. I missed the chance to

rescue her heavy, most grandfatherly clock that

clicked our time together while the pendulum


hypnotized like rhythm of rain or rocking chair on

our quiet after-church afternoons. I hear it

even decades later in my umpteenth wave of

second-hand grief. When I was in Savannah


I absorbed each museum, riverwalk, and ghost. I

was voracious: sneaking sand into my back pocket

from Tybee Island; handfuls of Spanish moss

slipped into my purse at the green and gray

Bonaventure Cemetery.



Sip-soaked


Too much headwine

and now our glarey stares:


every clever rereverie

sweat-glassed and fog-wet.


Whose move now? Memory

has strayed like a loose hen.

Let’s go to bedlam. I love

hate you in the way that you


are in the way.

Wake up to rooster-sad

crowcrying.




K Weber is an Ohio poet who has self-published 6 online poetry book projects. These are free in PDF and audio formats. Her projects, writing and photo credits, and more can be found at http://kweberandherwords.wordpress.com

Comments


bottom of page