top of page

"Threnody" by Romain P.-A. Delpeuch




Then, slumber wrapped my brain in fog. The sun,

in hiding, shrouded black, escaped my reach.

Atop secluded heights it shone for others,

and while the cold of autumn fell on us,

struggling against the remnant light, this age

embraced abjection and condemned itself.


In arabesques, the plumes to heaven soared

from desolated lands, unseen, unwitnessed;

a numbing angst had done the work: all eyes,

once stabbed, had been replaced by made-up gems

for flayed survivors to forget their fall.


I'll somber into night head on. I'll carry

the sparks to keep the fire on. And through

darkness inform, I'll cut my way; and led

by crows, I'll climb the mounts toward the skies.

Once found, I'll mourn it, for it died—this sun.




Romain P.-A. Delpeuch is the author of Hypnagogia (Terror House Press, TBA). His poetry and short fiction appear in New English Review, Terror House Magazine, Apocalypse Confidential, Ekstasis, D.F.L. Lit, JOURN-E, Atop The Cliffs and The Decadent Review.

댓글


bottom of page