top of page

"To a Photograph of Someone I Don't Know Named Orene" & "Recipe For Losing" by Kyla Houbolt

To a Photograph of Someone I Don't Know Named Orene


Orene your name

makes me want to sit down

at an oilcloth covered table

and eat buttered grits.


It makes me want to climb out the window

at midnight and elope with a man

named Jasper Sam.


Your name makes me want

to hop a freight and sing

out of tune in the cold.


Orene. I want to move into your name.


That O


is a big round door, r is the walking stick

in the elephant's foot just inside

and ene is the scene


the linoleum on the floor


the cabbage rose wallpaper


I want to live there, Orene,

where it's quiet, like it's quiet inside

your name, Orene,

unpopulated,

invisible,

long gone.


Sweet as breakfast

frying in a skillet

sweet

as rain

on the still dark roof.


Recipe For Losing


One thing I know about this street:

it's not the sea. Whish of rain

silences the weaponized light.

It's a singular feeling, a lonely thing

to not know the hour or

what the day might bring if it comes.

They always told me

there was magic here and I think

what magic there might have been

stole any reality I had left.

Walking forgets how.

Even breathing wearies.

Loss has no corners.

There's no place

to sit down.




Kyla Houbolt currently occupies Catawba territory in Gastonia, NC. Her first two chapbooks, Dawn's Fool and Tuned were published in 2020. More about them on her website, https://www.kylahoubolt.com/. Her individually published pieces online can be found on her Linktree: https://linktr.ee/luaz_poet. She is on Twitter @luaz_poet.

bottom of page