top of page

"Tonight" by Jason Melvin



CW: blood


Tonight, she rips the skin

off the top of her hand

exposing each phalange

She achieves this through addition

not subtraction

A layer of latex

four cotton swabs and some paper

fake blood, red and darker

I’m always proud of my daughter’s

artistry of violence

The attention to detail

the hidden ways of tricking reality

But tonight

she caught me reading about bombs

and rubble

and fathers fighting

while their families flee


Tonight,

pride is hard to find

luck spreads through me

as I imagine

pulling her from debris

and the top of her hand

seven layers of skin

peeling back

caught on a jagged chunk

exposing each bone

encased in meat and blood

and luck turns sour

while grateful feels guilty

knowing, we’re thousands of miles

from explosions and sirens

wreckage and loss


Tonight,

I hate our egos

and human need for more


Tonight,

I tell her WOW

It looks great!


And I do mean it.

bottom of page