top of page

"Two Shades of Green" and "My Favourite Number" by Lawrence Moore

Two Shades of Green


Hopeful soul

stands alone,

calling to fate with come-hither eyes.

Self-abandons at opening credits,

never reviews the synopsis.

Soft, unblemished, translucent skin

longs to touch what lurks in shade.

Babe in the woods sings gospel to wolves,

no hustle, no endgame, no chance.


Safety junkie exterminates

all problematic desire cells.

Gaze beyond reach,

wise beyond treasure.

Handcuffed, but not for kicks.

Most inert by morning's light,

alivest in sinuous, cryptic dreams.

Cursing a world that never slows

for an egg that declines to hatch.



My Favourite Number


Two is my preference.

Shared, yet screamingly private,

potential conspiracy.


While perhaps I could manage one more,

things bend under the weight.


I was one of a trio of teenage boys.

I told the others who I loved

and it spread throughout the school,

both able to point the finger.


Two has its drawbacks -

when I was bullied, I hated its guts -

but when we decided to change the world

and when I dared to kiss your lips,

no other number came close.




Lawrence Moore has been writing poems - some silly, some serious - since childhood. He lives in Portsmouth, England with his husband Matt and nine mostly well behaved cats. He has poetry published at, among others, Dreich, Pink Plastic House, Fevers of the Mind, Sarasvati and The Madrigal.


Comments


bottom of page