top of page

“Unheard Message” by Christine Barkley




Downtown I found a handwritten sign:

Have You Been Having Unusual Dreams?

There was a number to call.

That was all.

I think I saw it yesterday, because I don’t remember

taking a walk today. (But

it wasn’t a dream.

I would remember that.)


At the coffee shop, the baristas thank me for not screaming at them

over a three minute wait.

(It wasn’t a dream.

Someone would have screamed.)

The coffee shop has a number to call, comments or concerns,

and no one ever answers.

I leave a message:

you’re doing your best.


My own voicemail is always full of messages I can’t bear to erase.

I call myself anyway, tell the dead air:

you’re doing your best.


Today I found a different sign downtown:

Sweet Dreams - Sleep Deprivation Kills.

That must be true

because I don’t think I ever sleep


and I’m not sure if I saw that sign, or any sign,

or if I would have seen a sign if I had left the apartment -

and it may have been days since I did,

and when I say today I may mean yesterday.


And if I don’t sleep and I didn’t see that sign then

it may become more true,

and it does feel

like being killed.


I’m always looking for signs

and I find them, sometimes -

in days that seem like dreams, that twist and turn

into sleepless nights, that toss and turn with me


as I dream that I’m dying

while I lie awake -

but if or when I don’t

I still


dial my own number,

reassure the silence:

you’re doing your best

and it feels like being killed.


One day I might see a sign

with a number to call

for someone more worried about

doing their best


than the knife

at their throat


but I’m pretty sure

that no one would ever answer and the voicemail would always be full


of messages no one

could bear to erase


for comments or concerns

or someone’s last words.




Christine is an artist and writer based in the Pacific Northwest. Christine’s writing explores themes of chronic illness, trauma, and nature. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in Salamander, Rust and Moth, CHEAP POP, Reservoir Road, and elsewhere.

bottom of page