top of page

"Waking Up" by Sushant Thapa



The rainfall at 4:30 am Early in the morning. Promised sleep is broken. Glory still intact in the rain. An old house, The roof that acts like a roof. It is proof that Beggars can't be choosers. Romance with words, Early morning sentences, Knowing about the day. No sun or moon visible In the 4:30 am rain. I don't watch the sky I am stranded myself, Robbed out of poetic intensity. I turn away from the part of the sky My world fits in a room, It is pouring outside, The rain always makes music When I start writing. I do it awfully quiet, So, I don't wake up the house Under the roof.




Sushant Thapa (b.1993) serves as an assistant editor to Himalaya Diary, an online publishing platform. He lives in Biratnagar, Nepal. He holds an M.A. in English from Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi, India. His fourth book entitled "Love's Cradle" was published by World Inkers Printing and Publishing New York, and Dakar, Senegal recently.

bottom of page