top of page

"White Lilies" by Anne Whitehouse



The heavy fragrance

of the white Casablanca Lily

mingling with the white Baferrari Lily

blooming in the ninety-degree heat

of my July garden takes me back

to an Upper West Side street corner

in the early morning winter dark

twenty-five years ago.


Once a week, before work on Fridays,

I hurried a mile downtown

to buy a bouquet of white lilies

from an old man who sold them

from the back of his white van.


He was a round little man

with a gap between his front teeth,

and a gold filling. He taught me

how to clip the sacs of pollen

on the anthers of the stamens

to prevent shedding.


He was one of those oddballs

who eked out a living

on the city streets in those days,

like the knife grinder

or the seltzer deliveryman.


After about a year,

I stopped going to buy them.

I never saw him again.

but he inspired me to grow

my own white lilies.


My mother hated lilies.

She wouldn’t let them into her house

because they reminded her

of funerals and death.

I am not my mother.


In the summer of my convalescence,

I sit under the wisteria arbor.

The heavy flowers droop on their stems,

the air buzzes with insects.


After weeks of illness, of waking up

in the morning feeling sore and bruised,

I rose from a dream,

in which a beautiful young man

told a table of enthralled listeners

how he’d survived a motorcycle accident.


When I woke, I remembered the dream.

I felt rejuvenated, no longer in pain,

all the parts of my body

relaxed and released, like a pond

turning over in springtime,

or a lily perfuming the air.

bottom of page